Phlox – perennial fire flower, bright accent garden design

Phlox кустовой2

Phlox Bush, pink with white spots.

Phlox perennial include more than seventy species, varieties and hybrids there are several hundred.

Red plants in the flowering period resemble flames. For this reason, Carolus Linnaeus gave the genus the name, translated from Greek meaning "fire".

The ancestral home of the flower North America. Phlox demanding on the soil composition, dank.

Types, varieties, hybrids of Phlox

Phlox groundcover

Creeping plants, blooming in the garden first, in mid-may. Popular with gardeners uses subulate Phlox small, sharp, leaves and different colored blossoms from white to purple. Plant sun-loving, the remoisture soil may lead to its death. Withered Bush pruned by a third: it enhances growth and flowering the following summer. In winter, the Phlox shelter with dry leaves. The plant is ideal to decorate rock gardens.

Other popular varieties of Phlox groundcover:

  • forked;
  • adorable;
  • Phlox Douglas;
  • Rovelli.

They all flower in may. Lovely Phlox undemanding to the soil, they can decorate the foot of the stairs, wall. Purple-blue Phlox Rovelli attracts attention with its unusual color. Plants are planted in the spring.

Phlox groundcover, styloid.

Phlox groundcover, styloid, a beautiful pink color.

Ryhlodernistoe varieties

The flowers of these varieties bloom later groundcover: at the end of may. The most popular is the canadian, "spread wide". Unpretentious wild visitor from the other hemisphere happy gardeners blue flowers with a pleasant, violet aroma. In the dry season, the plant quickly fades. The color of cultivated varieties, from white and lilac to purple. Phlox needs to be regularly weeded from weeds.

Phlox divaricate.

Phlox divaricate, blue-purple color.

Beautiful solomonovy floks, it grows quickly and is widely used in landscape design, coating the surface of the earth is lush, multi-colored carpet. Flowers – white, blue, pink. Can grow in the shade, under the trees, tolerates damp.

Shrub Phlox

The plant may be stunted, up to one meter, and tall. Domestic gardeners prefer two varieties of the family of Caroline:

  • "Bill Baker";
  • "Mrs. Lingard".

The first is similar to the canadian Phlox, colouring of inflorescences – pink; the second – high, to 110 cm, with white flowers. Both varieties are well acclimatized and developed on acidic soils.

Tall Phlox Anders deserve special attention. Early flowering and the aroma is pleasing to lovers of floral landscapes. The plant stems are weak and can go in bad weather, to avoid this, they are planted densely, very close to each other. After pruning the Phlox may re-bloom.

Two more spray Phlox are of interest to our latitude. Spotted Phlox was named for the color of inflorescences: they are covered with streaks and spots of purple color. The plant tolerates partial shade, they often decorate the foot of the trees and shores of reservoirs. The most popular varieties:

  • Omega;
  • "Rosalind";
  • "Alpha";
  • "White pyramid";
  • Delta;
  • Natasha.

The advantage of paniculate Phlox, compared to the spotted – strong stems.

Phlox Bush

Phlox Bush, the soft pink color.

Floks in landscape design

Flowers look good in single crop, and in the songs. Styloid Phlox plant the edges of lawns and flower beds, the Alpine slide. Phlox paniculata can be used to mask the old borders, water tanks and other maloestetichny, but necessary items.

Songs from this plant it is possible to divide the garden into zones. If instead of grass to sow grass Phlox – get a bright colored carpet. Bushes of medium height draw up the garden path.

Phloxes in the garden. Example of landscape design.

Phlox shades of pink in your garden. Example of landscape design with their application.

Fire flower Phlox and neighbors

Phloxes., but some gardeners consider them a rustic appearance and are combined into groups with other plants. One of these "neighbors" can be silvery ephedra, the bushes grow well near low daylillies, roses. In the latter case, important choice of colors: Queen of the garden in saturated colors will look good on the background of snow-white or pale pink Phlox.

Golden rules of landscape design: do not mix plants of cold and warm shades, do not combine several species with variegated, spotted petals. White Phlox on the background of dark colors, most likely "disappear", but the reverse option, dark against white, will look very interesting.

Good looking group of Phlox of the same color, but different shades, the subtle play of plants, planted consistently, create an interesting "carpet" in a single range.

garden design

Example of landscaping with Phlox.

Reproduction: seeds or cuttings?

Most garden plants are propagated by cuttings, division, seeds, Phlox is no exception. To divide it is necessary to choose adult shrub three to five years of age. It can be divided into 15 – 20 parts and plant in the spring, during the autumn, such experiments are not carried out and divided Phlox into four or seven parts. In the spring a better plant root.

Harvesting of cuttings for propagation

To perform the operation of grafting Phlox, for breeding, need from may until mid-summer. At this time, the survival rate is highest. The handle can be separated from any Department of stem, each should now have two node, the top is removed. This is best done in cloudy weather. The cuttings are planted in the ground immediately, it needs to be well hydrated. Soil mixture is best to cook by yourself: mix equal proportions of humus, sand and earth. The plantation is regularly watered, it is possible to cover the landing film. The root system of Phlox will begin its formation a month after planting.

cuttings of Phlox

Propagation of Phlox cuttings from the stem.

Autumn chores and preparing for winter

When the need arises to deal with the reproduction of Phlox not in season, this can be done in the fall. Manipulation is carried out in areas with cool constant temperature, for example, in the greenhouse or cellar. In the open ground such of the cuttings planted is not, frosts they will not survive. The best way is to place plants in pot or container, in which Phlox will take root, and will continue to grow until the onset of the warm season. Planting bushes on the site in may, when there is no risk of night frosts.

Seed propagation

Phlox from seed classic gardening. This type is more time consuming, than cuttings or division of a Bush, but it has a serious advantage. Flowers, grown from seed, better adapted to the peculiarities of soil and climate. The drawback is possible loss of varietal characteristics.

Seeds of the Phlox shrub can be purchased in a specialty store or grow your own. Collect them then, when the foliage begins to wither, and the boxes will turn brown. Landed younger generation plants directly on the land or indoors. If the germination of Phlox will be in containers, in them lay the soil mixture of sand, earth and compost and cover with soil layer in 1 – 1,5 cm. In the first month of winter, the containers hid the snow, and in the early spring and transferred to the greenhouse. Young plants of the Phlox shrub are planted in the ground in late April, first – in greenhouse, after a month on the site.

Propagation of Phlox seeds.

Propagation of Phlox seeds in the ground.

Planting Phlox

Plants are better to plant in a bright place with sandy soil, loam with humus and peat. Fresh manure should not be entered, a good option – the humus of pine needles and birch leaf. On the site should not stagnate water. The soil should be loosen, remove weeds, to fertilize with compost, pour. The distance between plants must achieve 35 – 50 cm, a closer location is justified, if you think landing in a Bush. Old plants should be transplanted, if inflorescences fewer – it's time to think about rejuvenation.

Care, watering, fertilizing flower

Phloxes need time to weed, remove the dried shoots, loosen the soil. If you want to grow stunted and surround Bush, it is possible to periodically pinch back. The procedure is justified in the spring, in may, later, the formation of plants will separate beginning of the flowering process.

Drought and waterlogged soil are the Phlox equally bad. In summer the plants need to be watered morning and evening, to do it accurately, not splashing on the leaves. For moisture retention soil mulch peat or humus.

Bush flower Phlox responsive to fertilizers, they make the soil weekly from late June to the end of the summer season. The dose varies to increase, then decreases. Phlox like nitrogen and phosphorus, to the mixture, you can add nitrate. At the end of the heat fertilize the plants don't need.

Diseases and pests of the flower

Phloxes struggle spot and powdery mildew. Signs of the disease may be dots on the leaves, twisting. The diseased plants should be removed, bushes handle Bordeaux liquid. It is possible to spray a healthy Phlox as a preventive measure in the spring. Also, plants can be attacked by nematodes or filamentous worms. This attack can live in those areas, where previously grew strawberries. A sick plant will have to eliminate along with a lump of land, soil disinfected with lime.

For therapeutic and prophylactic spraying plants recommended insecticides:

  • "Karate";
  • "Sumi-Alpha";
  • "Fury";
  • "Kinmiks".

6 Photo of different varieties of Phlox:

Video about growing perennial Phlox

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Огненный цветок – яркий акцент садового дизайна

флокс кустовой2

Флокс кустовой с белыми пятнами.

Флоксы многолетние включают в себя более семидесяти видов, сортов и гибридов насчитывается несколько сотен.

Красные виды растения в период цветения напоминают языки пламени. Именно по этой причине Карл Линней и дал роду название, в переводе с греческого означающее «огонь».

Прародина цветка – Северная Америка. Флоксы требовательны к составу почвы, влаголюбивы.

Виды, сорта, гибриды

Флоксы почвопокровные

Стелющиеся растения, расцветающие в саду первыми, в середине мая. Популярностью у садоводов пользуется шиловидный флокс с мелкими, острыми по форме, листьями и различной окраской соцветий – от белой до пурпурной. Растение солнцелюбивое, переувлажненность почвы может привести к его гибели. Отцветший кустик подрезают на треть: это усиливает рост и цветение на следующее лето. На зиму флокс укрывают сухой листвой. Растение идеально для украшения альпийских горок.

Другие популярные сорта почвопокровных флоксов:

  • раздвоенный;
  • прелестный;
  • флокс Дугласа;
  • Ругелли.

Все они также цветут в мае. Прелестный флокс нетребователен к почве, им можно украсить подножья лестниц, стенки. Пурпурно-голубой флокс Ругелли привлекает внимание необычной окраской. Растения высаживают весной.

Флокс почвопокровный, шиловидный.

Флокс почвопокровный, шиловидный.

Рыхлодернистые сорта

Цветы этих сортов зацветают позже почвопокровных: в самом конце мая. Самый популярный вид – канадский, «растопыренный». Неприхотливый дикорастущий гость из другого полушария радует садоводов голубыми цветами с приятным, фиалковым ароматом. В засушливый сезон растение быстро отцветает. Окраска культурных разновидностей – от белой и лиловой до фиолетовой. Флокс необходимо регулярно пропалывать от сорняков.

Флокс растопыренный.

Флокс растопыренный.

Красив столононосный флокс, он быстро разрастается и широко используется в ландшафтном дизайне, покрывая поверхность земли пышным, разноцветным ковром. Цветы – белые, голубые, розовые. Может расти в тени, под деревьями, хорошо переносит сырость.

Кустовые флоксы

Растение может быть низкорослым, до одного метра, и высокорослым. Отечественные садоводы предпочитают два сорта из семейства каролинских:

  • «Билл Бакер»;
  • «Миссис Лингард».

Первый похож на канадский флокс, окраска соцветий – розовая; второй – высокий, до 110 см, с белыми цветками. Оба сорта хорошо приживаются и развиваются на кислых почвах.

Высокорослые флоксы Андерса заслуживают особого внимания. Раннее цветение и аромат долго радуют любителей цветочных ландшафтов. Стебли растений слабые и могут лечь в непогоду, чтобы этого не произошло, их высаживают густо, почти вплотную друг к другу. После обрезки флокс может повторно зацвести.

Еще два вида кустовых флоксов представляют интерес для наших широт. Пятнистый флокс получил свое название за окраску соцветий: они покрыты штрихами и пятнами пурпурного цвета. Растение хорошо переносит полутень, им часто декорируют подножья деревьев и берега водоемов. Самые популярные сорта:

  • «Омега»;
  • «Розалинда»;
  • «Альфа»;
  • «Белая пирамида»;
  • «Дельта»;
  • «Наташа».

Преимущество метельчатого флокса, по сравнению с пятнистым – крепкие стебли.

флокс кустовой

Флокс кустовой.

Флокс в ландшафтном дизайне

Цветы хорошо выглядят как в одиночных посадках, так и в составе композиций. Шиловидными флоксами засаживают края газонов и клумбы, альпийские горки. Метельчатыми флоксами можно замаскировать старые бордюры, баки с водой и другие малоэстетичные, но необходимые предметы.

Композициями из этого растения можно поделить сад на зоны. Если вместо травы засеять газон флоксами – получится яркий цветной ковер. Кустиками среднего роста оформляют садовые дорожки.

Флоксы в саду. Пример ландшафтного дизайна.

Флоксы в саду. Пример ландшафтного дизайна.

Огненный цветок и соседи

Флоксы прекрасны сами по себе, но некоторые садоводы считают их внешний вид простоватым и объединяют в группы с другими растениями. Одним из таких «соседей» может быть серебристый хвойник, кустики хорошо растут рядом с низкорослыми лилейниками, розами. В последнем случае важен выбор цветовой гаммы: королева сада насыщенных тонов будет хорошо смотреться на фоне снежно-белых или нежно-розовых флоксов.

Золотые правила ландшафтного дизайна: не смешивать растения холодных и теплых оттенков, не сочетать несколько видов с пестрыми, пятнистыми лепестками. Белые флоксы на фоне темных цветов, скорее всего «пропадут», а вот обратный вариант, темные на фоне белых, будет выглядеть очень интересно.

Хорошо выглядит группа одного цвета, но разных оттенков, нежные переливы растений, посаженных последовательно, создадут интересный «ковер» в единой гамме.

дизайн сада

Пример ландшафтного дизайна с флоксами.

Размножение: семена или черенки?

Большинство садовых растений размножаются черенками, делением, семенами, флокс – не исключение. Для деления необходимо выбрать взрослый куст трех-пятилетнего возраста. Его можно разделить на 15 – 20 частей и высадить весной, осенью лучше таких экспериментов не проводить и разделить флокс на четыре-семь частей. В весеннее время растение лучше укореняется.

Заготовка черенков

Проводить операцию нужно с мая и до середины лета. В это время процент выживаемости наиболее высок. Черенок можно вычленить из любого отдела стебля, на каждом должно быть по два узла, верхушки удаляют. Лучше всего это делать в пасмурную погоду. Черенки высаживают в грунт сразу же, он должен быть хорошо увлажнен. Почвенную смесь лучше приготовить самостоятельно: перемешать в равных пропорциях перегной, песок и землю. Плантацию регулярно поливают, можно накрыть посадки пленкой. Корневая система флоксов начнет свое формирование через месяц после высаживания.

черенки флокса

Размножение флокса черенками.

Осенние хлопоты

При возникновении необходимости заняться размножением флоксов не в сезон, это можно сделать осенью. Манипуляции проводят в помещениях с прохладной постоянной температурой, например, в парнике или погребе. В открытый грунт такие черенки высаживать нельзя, морозы они не перенесут. Лучший способ – разместить растения в вазоне или в контейнере, в котором флоксы укоренятся, и будут расти до наступления теплого сезона. Высаживать кустики на участок можно в мае, когда не будет риска ночных заморозков.

Размножение семенами

Флоксы из семян – классика садоводства. Такой вид отнимает больше времени, чем черенкование или деление куста, но имеет серьезное преимущество. Цветы, выращенные из семян, лучше адаптируются к особенностям почвы и климата. Недостаток – возможно утрата отдельных сортовых признаков.

Семена можно приобрести в специализированном магазине или вырастить самостоятельно. Собирают их тогда, когда листва начнет увядать, а коробочки приобретут бурый цвет. Высаживается молодое поколение растений сразу на участке или в закрытом помещении. Если проращивание будет происходить в контейнерах, в них закладывают почвенную смесь из песка, земли и перегноя и прикрывают слоем грунта в 1 – 1,5 см. В первый зимний месяц контейнеры укрываются снегом, а в первый весенний – переносятся в теплицу. Молодые растения высаживают грунт в конце апреля, сначала – в парник, через месяц – на участок.

Размножение флокса семенами.

Размножение флокса семенами.

Посадка флоксов

Растения лучше высаживать в освещенном месте с песчаным грунтом, суглинком с перегноем и торфом. Свежий навоз вносить нельзя, хороший вариант – перегной из хвои и березового листа. На участке не должна застаиваться вода. Почву нужно разрыхлить, удалить сорняки, удобрить компостом, полить. Расстояния между растениями должны достигать 35 – 50 см, более близкое расположение оправдано, если задумана посадка в виде куста. Состарившиеся растения необходимо пересаживать, если соцветий стало меньше – пора подумать об омоложении.

Уход, поливка, подкормка

Флоксы необходимо вовремя пропалывать, удалять засохшие побеги, рыхлить почву. Если есть желание вырастить низкорослый и объемный куст – его можно периодически прищипывать. Процедура оправдана весной, в мае, позднее формирование растения отдалит начало процесса цветения.

Засуха и переувлажнение почвы действуют на флоксы одинаково плохо. Летом растения нужно поливать утром и вечером, делать это аккуратно, не брызгая на листья. Для удерживания влаги грунт мульчируют торфом или перегноем.

Растение отзывчиво на минеральные удобрения, их вносят в почву еженедельно с конца июня и до конца летнего сезона. Доза добавок меняется на повышение, затем снижается. Флоксы любят азот и фосфор, в смесь можно добавлять селитру. По окончании тепла удобрять растения не нужно.

Болезни и вредители

Флоксы с трудом противостоят пятнистости и мучнистой росе. Признаками заболевания могут быть точки на листьях, скручивание. Заболевшие растения следует удалить, кустики обработать бордоской жидкостью. Ею можно опрыскивать здоровые флоксы в профилактических целях в весенний период. Также растения могут подвергнуться атаке нематод или нитчатых червей. Эта напасть может жить на тех участках, где ранее росла земляника. Больное растение придется ликвидировать вместе с комом земли, грунт дезинфицируют известью.

Для лечебного и профилактического опрыскивания растений рекомендованы следующие инсектициды:

  • «Каратэ»;
  • «Суми-Альфа»;
  • «Фьюри»;
  • «Кинмикс».

Фото разных сортов флоксов

Видео о выращивании многолетних флоксов

Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!