Luxury Spiraea: snow fairy tale in the middle of summer

спирея5

For General information about shrub

One of the most beautiful shrubs, which is widely used for the decoration of household plots. Important for our latitude property – Spiraea resistant to winter frosts. She is unpretentious and landing, and care.

Another name Spiraea – meadowsweet. Mention of it is often found in the folklore of Shors, Chuvash, Tuva. From the twigs of the shrub shamans were the beaters for your drums. Scientific name meadowsweet is derived from the Greek word "Speer" – "bending, which caused a gust of wind" was transformed into Latin "Spiritus" – "the breath, spirit".

This genus of ornamental shrubs includes about a hundred species, different from each other by color, the shape of the branches, the size of the Bush.

Biological features of culture

Shrubs of this kind can be very small, to 15 cm in height, and tall enough, size up 2,5 meters. The branches of the plant is creeping or erect, flowers – white, raspberry, yellow. Inflorescences are arranged around the run, and only in its upper part. The crown is thick and dense or rarefied, depending on the variety. Branches often fall to the ground. The roots located superficially, fibrous. The shrub is propagated by cuttings, layering, cuttings, seeds.

Spirea does not require formative pruning, it is sometimes carried out for decorative purposes, to give the plant a more interesting shape. Shrub hardy, easily adapts to different climatic zones. Spiraea does not need winter harboring, but in the most severe winters the plant may be a little freeze, you need to cut the dead branches. Despite this, the plant will recover quickly and will bloom the same year. For full development of spirea it is enough good soil, time made of feeding and several hours of sunshine per day.

Varieties of spirea: what to choose?

All the plants of this genus can be divided into two major groups according to flowering time: spring and summer. The first to blossom gradually and pleasing to the grower Cipangu floral lace in two months. Second bloom profusely, but a short time. Low shrubs are often used for Alpine design.

Spring plants are covered with flowers in mid-may, they are all white, but with different shades, until light cream. From planting to beginning of flowering is only two years.

The most popular varieties

English landscape

Spiraea felt in the garden landscape.

Spirea gray. The name is derived not because of the color of the petals, they are white, like all spring grades, but because of the greyish-green foliage. Blossoms since may till the middle of the first summer month, blossoms located throughout the run.

  • Grey Spiraea "Grefsheim". Tall shrub grows up to two meters, spreading crown is covered with white flowers, gathered in umbels. Diameter of individual flower 1 cm.
  • Spiraea Vanhoutte is a hybrid of Cantonese and three-lobed spirea, the Bush reaches a height of 2 m. The flowers are small, collected in globular inflorescences. Interesting foliage color: dark green on top and bluish bottom, in the fall becomes tinged with red. A variety that can bloom twice a year: in early June, and in August.
  • Spiraea arguta is also characterized by high growth and beautiful shape. It blooms from late may to mid-June and resembles a white, flowing waterfall.
Spirea gray.

Spirea gray.

Summer varieties have their own characteristics: inflorescences appear only at the ends of young shoots, last year's branches wither away. Flowers can have red, raspberry, pink color. Large subspecies – English. Bushes of average height, reach five feet. The foliage is bluish green and the bottom, ovate, in the autumn takes on a red or yellow color. The flowers are pinkish-red, collected in inflorescence.

  • Grade "Shirobana". Shrub covered with small leaves and pink or white flowers. Flowering time – July-August.
  • "Goldflam" changes the foliage color from yellow to copper, depending on the time of year. Flowers – small, red-pink. Interesting, what color is variable on a Sunny plot, the bushes, planted in the shade, retain the original coloring.
  • "Crispus" is able to bloom from July until the end of the summer, flowers – pale pink, collected in flat umbrellas.
  • Undersized sort of "little Princess" grows slowly. The maximum size of the plant 0,6 m. Flowers are great, to 4 cm in diameter, size, inflorescence dashboard red-pink. Flowering time – June and July.
  • "Golden Princess" – a kind of "little princesses". Shrub just above, reaches 1 m, the leaves are yellow.
English.

English.

English – the most common, but not only summer look.

  • Spiraea Bumalda – hybrid, plants reach a height in 80 cm. Stems – erect, foliage in summer green, autumn yellow or red with a purple tint, flowers – pink.
  • Spiraea loosestrife is form of leaves – they are thin, long, pointed, reach 10 cm. Flowers – white or pink, length of inflorescences – up to 20 cm.
  • Douglas Spiraea blooms from July to September, the Bush high – up to 1,5 m. The flowers are rich dark pink.
  • English Billard – a hybrid of Douglas spirea and willow leaf. Shrubs reach maximum for this plant height in 2 m. Inflorescence – a long, pink, flowering time – mid summer to late autumn.

Where to plant plant? Select the plot

If the grower has determined the types and sizes of shrubs, then it's time to choose the right place for them planting. As Spiraea able to greatly grow up, but in the hand, for design of the Alpine hills and hedgerows choose different plants.

For hedges required grade, which give a bit of fruit stalks and lend themselves to formative pruning. For single plantings, on the contrary, it is better to choose plants with developed shoots, which occupy a large area. For Alpine, rockeries, gardens of stones used low-growing spirea.

If select varieties, which bloom at different times, you can achieve a continuous, luxurious flowering from early spring until the first frost.

Reproduction of spirea: types and characteristics

Reproduction of spirea division of the Bush.

Reproduction of spirea division of the Bush.

The shrub can be propagated by seeds as, and vegetative method – cuttings, cuttings, dividing the Bush. The seed method is quite time-consuming, often they are breeders, working on getting new varieties. Planting material should be collected in autumn and sown in a special tray with soil. Germination is carried out under a perforated film. Landing germs on the site is done in the spring, before that, the soil must be well fertilized.

For grafting you need to choose the shoots length in 10 – 12 cm, without flowers. A necessary procedure before planting in the soil – treatment fungicide solution. Soil moistening, the humidity in the room should also be high, the cuttings covered with foil, in which to make a hole. Covering material should be placed on 30 cm above the plants.

Layering is one of the most simple and effective ways, the percentage of engraftment of seedlings in this case is very high. Sprigs sprays., pin it to the ground bracket and sprinkle the soil. Rooted plant quickly, it can be separated from the main Bush and replant a sapling to a new location.

Bush produce division in spring or autumn. In the first case, this procedure produces the buds. The plant quickly goes into growth, but there is an increased risk of infection of the roots. In order to solve this problem, the seedling is soaked in fungicidal solution.

General rules of planting

Spirea loves the slightly acidic soil or neutral soil, which should be well fertilized. Spring varieties of plants are better to plant in autumn, and summer equally well acclimatized and autumn, and spring. Neighbors spirea on the site may be the fir, thuja, juniper, other conifers.

The recommendation of the professional gardeners

  • Planting material of spirea should be treated with a fungicide mandatory.
  • Patients, the damaged part of the cuttings should be removed.
  • Best option for planting – sod and leaf soil, spirea loves a good aeration. Poor soil should be fertilized with peat or a mixture of sand and leaf soil. The hole for the landing digging for 2 – 4 day, it should be. The required drainage layer in 15 – 20 cm, you can use the broken bricks, peat with sand.
  • The depth of the landing of stalk – 0,5 m. The root collar is flush with the surface or deepens in 2 cm. If the English are propagated by dividing the Bush, the pre-plant should be put into the water, and then cut to pieces with sharp pruning shears.
  • Planting of plants into open ground produced in cloudy and rainy weather. After the procedure, the hive should also be watered, dusted basal area with sawdust or peat.

The secrets of correct care

Despite the fact, the spirea does not require pruning, experienced growers do not neglect this kind of crown formation, the Bush is shaped in the form of a ball or pyramid. It is necessary from time to time to remove old and weak branches, these procedures should be done in the spring. After pruning the bushes watered with a solution of manure or superphosphate. Recommended proportions: 10 g fertilizer in a bucket of water. Intensive watering is not required, enough to support the English in times of drought. For wintering the roots can hide in the foliage layer 10 – 12 cm.

Diseases and pests

The plant is prone to fungal diseases, as Anthracnose, ramularia, the Septoria leaf spot. The first sign – the appearance of spots. These troubles are treated with liquid Bordeaux, sulfur colloid, "fundazol". Processing is done after or before flowering.

The most common pests – aphids and spider mites. Symptoms – appearance of holes on the leaves, web. Way to fight – spraying with Malathion or phosphamidon, to combat aphids, use the drug "pirimor".

Photo of different varieties of spirea

Video about growing spirea

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Роскошная спирея: снежная сказка посредине лета

спирея5

Общие сведения о кустарнике

Одно из самых красивых кустарниковых растений, которое широко используется для оформления приусадебных участков. Важное для наших широт свойство – спирея устойчива к зимним морозам. Неприхотлива она и в посадке, и в уходе.

Другое название спиреи – таволга. Упоминание о нем часто встречается в фольклоре шорцев, чувашей, тувинцев. Из прутиков кустарника шаманы изготавливали колотушки для своих бубнов. Научное название таволги – производное от греческого слова «спиера» — «изгиб, который вызван порывом ветра» трансформировался в латинское «спиритус» — «дуновенье, дух».

Данный род декоративных кустарников насчитывает около сотни видов, отличающихся друг от друга цветом, формой веток, размерами куста.

Биологические особенности культуры

Кустарники этого рода могут быть как совсем небольшими, до 15 см в высоту, так и достаточно рослыми, размером до 2,5 метров. Ветви растения – стелющиеся или прямостоячие, цветы – белые, малиновые, желтые. Соцветия располагаются как по всему побегу, так и только в его верхней части. Крона – густая и плотная или разряженная, в зависимости от сорта. Ветви часто опускаются до самой земли. Корни расположены неглубоко, мочковатые. Кустарник размножается черенками, отводками, черенками, семенами.

Спирея не нуждается в формирующей обрезке, её иногда проводят в декоративных целях, чтобы придать растению еще более интересную форму. Кустарник вынослив, с легкостью адаптируется к различным климатическим поясам. Спирея не нуждается в зимнем укрывании, но в самые суровые зимы растение может немного подмерзнуть, необходимо произвести обрезку погибших ветвей. Несмотря на это, растение быстро восстановится и зацветет в тот же год. Для полноценного развития спиреи ей достаточно хорошей почвы, вовремя внесенной подкормки и нескольких солнечных часов в день.

Сорта спиреи: что выбрать?

Все растения этого рода можно разделить на две крупные группы по времени цветения: летние и весенние. Первые зацветают постепенно и радуют садовода кипенью цветочных кружев в течение двух месяцев. Вторые цветут обильно, но непродолжительное время. Низкие кусты часто используются для оформления альпийских горок.

Весенние растения покрываются цветами в середине мая, они все белого цвета, но с различными оттенками, вплоть до светло-кремового. От посадки до начала цветения проходит всего два года.

Самые популярные сорта

спирея ландшафт

Спирея войлочная в ландшафте сада.

Спирея серая. Название получено не из-за цвета лепестков, они – белые, как и на всех весенних сортах, а из-за серовато-зеленой окраски листвы. Цветет с мая до середины первого летнего месяца, соцветия расположены по всему побегу.

  • Серая спирея «Грефшейм». Высокий кустарник вырастает до двух метров, раскидистая крона покрыта белыми цветами, собранными в зонтики. Диаметр отдельного цветка – 1 см.
  • Спирея Вангутта является гибридом трехлопастной и кантонской спиреи, куст достигает высоты 2 м. Цветки мелкие, собраны в шаровидные соцветия. Интересна окраска листвы: темно-зеленая сверху и сизоватая снизу, осенью приобретает красный оттенок. Сорт способен цвести два раза в год: в начале июня и в августе.
  • Спирея аргута также отличается высоким ростом и красивой формой. Цветет с конца мая до середины июня и напоминает белый, струящийся водопад.
Спирея серая.

Спирея серая.

Летние сорта имеют свои особенности: соцветия появляются лишь на концах молодых побегов, прошлогодние ветви отмирают. Цветки могут иметь красную, малиновую, розовую окраску. Крупный подвид – спирея японская. Кусты средней высоты, достигают полутора метров. Листва зеленая и сизоватая снизу, яйцевидной формы, в осеннее время приобретает красную или желтую окраску. Цветы розовато-красные, собраны в соцветия.

  • Сорт «Широбана». Кустарник покрыт мелкими листьями и розовыми или белыми цветками. Время цветения – июль-август.
  • «Голдфлейм» меняет цвет листвы от желтого до медного в зависимости от времени года. Цветки – мелкие, красно-розовые. Интересно, что цвет изменчив на солнечном участке, кусты, посаженные в тени, сохраняют первоначальную окраску.
  • «Криспа» способна цвести с июля до конца лета, цветки – нежно-розовые, собранные в плоские зонтики.
  • Низкорослый сорт «Литтл принцесс» медленно растет. Максимальный размер растения – 0,6 м. Цветки отличаются большим, до 4 см в диаметре, размером, щитковые соцветия красно-розовые. Время цветения – июнь и июль.
  • «Голден принцесс» – разновидность «Литтл принцесс». Кустарник чуть выше, достигает 1 м, листья – желтые.
Спирея японская.

Спирея японская.

Спирея японская – самый распространенный, но не единственный летний вид.

  • Спирея Бумальда – гибрид, растения достигают высоты в 80 см. Стебли – прямостоячие, листва в летнее время зеленая, осенью – желтая или красная с пурпурным оттенком, цветы – розовые.
  • Спирея иволистная отличается формой листвы – они тонкие, длинные, остроконечные, достигают 10 см. Цветки – белые или розовые, длина соцветий – до 20 см.
  • Спирея Дугласа цветет с июля по сентябрь, куст высокий – до 1,5 м. Цветки – насыщенные темно-розовые.
  • Спирея Билларда – гибрид спиреи Дугласа и иволистной. Кусты достигают максимальной для этого растения высоты в 2 м. Соцветия – длинные, розовые, время цветения – середина лета и до глубокой осени.

Где высадить растение? Выбираем участок

Если садовод определился с видами и размерами кустарников, то пришло время правильно подобрать им место высаживания. Так как спирея способна сильно расти не только вверх, но и в стороны, для оформления альпийских горок и живых изгородей подбирают разные растения.

Для живых изгородей требуются сорта, которые дают немного прикорневой поросли и поддаются формирующей обрезке. Для одиночных посадок, наоборот, лучше выбирать растения с развитой порослью, которые занимают большую площадь. Для альпийских горок, рокариев, садов из камней используются низкорослые спиреи.

Если подобрать сорта, которые цветут в разное время, можно добиться непрерывного, роскошного цветения с начала весны и до первых заморозков.

Размножение спиреи: виды и особенности

Размножение спиреи делением куста.

Размножение спиреи делением куста.

Кустарник можно размножать как семенами, так и вегетативным методом – отводками, черенками, делением куста. Семенной способ достаточно трудоемкий, чаще всего им пользуются селекционеры, работающие над получением нового сорта. Посадочный материал нужно собрать в осенний период и высеять в специальные поддоны с почвой. Проращивание производится под перфорированной пленкой. Высадка ростков на участок производится весной, перед этим почву необходимо хорошо удобрить.

Для черенкования нужно выбрать побеги длиной в 10 – 12 см, без цветов. Необходимая процедура перед высадкой в грунт – обработка фунгицидным раствором. Грунт увлажнить, влажность воздуха в помещении также должна быть высокой, черенки накрывают пленкой, в которой проделаны отверстия. Укрывающий материал должен располагаться на 30 см выше высаженного растения.

Размножение отводками – один из самых простых и эффективных способов, процент приживания саженцев в этом случае очень высок. Веточки спреи нагибают, прикрепляют к земле скобой и присыпают почвой. Укореняется растение быстро, его можно отделить от основного куста и пересадить саженец на новое место.

Деление куста производят весной или осенью. В первом случае эту процедуру производят до появления бутонов. Растение быстро идет в рост, но имеется повышенный риск заражения корней. Чтобы эту проблему решить – саженец замачивают в фунгицидном растворе.

Общие правила высаживания

Спирея любит слабокислые почвы или нейтральные грунты, которые должны быть хорошо удобрены. Весенние сорта растения лучше высаживать осенью, а летние одинаково хорошо приживаются и осенью, и весной. Соседями спиреи по участку могут быть ель, туя, можжевельник, другие хвойники.

Рекомендации профессиональных садоводов

  • Посадочный материал спиреи должен обрабатываться фунгицидом в обязательном порядке.
  • Больные, поврежденные части черенков следует удалять.
  • Лучший вариант для посадки – листовые и дерновые почвы, спирея любит хорошую аэрацию. Бедный грунт необходимо удобрить торфом или смесью песка и листовой почвы. Яму для высадки копают за 2 – 4 дня, она должна постоять. Необходим слой дренажа в 15 – 20 см, можно использовать битый кирпич, торф с песком.
  • Глубина высадки черенка – 0,5 м. Корневая шейка располагается вровень с поверхностью или заглубляется на 2 см. Если спирею размножают делением куста, то предварительно растение нужно поставить в воду, а потом разрезать на части острым секатором.
  • Высадку растений в открытый грунт производят в пасмурную и дождливую погоду. После окончания процедуры куст следует дополнительно полить, присыпать прикорневую область опилками или торфом.

Секреты правильного ухода

Несмотря на то, что спирея не нуждается в обрезке, опытные садоводы не пренебрегают этим видом формирования кроны, кустам придается форма шара или пирамиды. Необходимо время от времени удалять старые и слабые ветви, эти процедуры лучше делать весной. После обрезки кусты поливают раствором навоза или суперфосфата. Рекомендуемые пропорции: 10 г удобрения на ведро воды. Интенсивный полив не требуется, достаточно поддерживать спирею в период засухи. На зимовку корни можно укрыть лиственным слоем в 10 – 12 см.

Болезни и вредители

Растение подвержено таким грибковым заболеваниям, как аскохитоз, рамуляриоз, септориоз. Первый признак – появление пятен. Лечатся эти неприятности бордоской жидкостью, коллоидной серой, «фундазолом». Обработка производится после окончания или до начала цветения.

Самые частые вредители – тля и паутинный клещ. Признаки – появление дырочек на листьях, паутина. Способ борьбы – опрыскивание карбофосом или фосфамидом, для борьбы с тлей используется препарат «пиримор».

Фото разных сортов спиреи

Видео о выращивании спиреи

Понравилась статья ? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!