Nice Euonymus

Autumn Euonymus house wall.

Autumn Euonymus house wall.

Beautiful shrub Euonymus is not too widely used in ornamental horticulture. It is as good in single, and in group plantings, when creating "hedges". Krone lace, small leaves on branching shoots create a natural, intricate ornament. The plant changes colour during the vegetation period: summer shrub dark green, in the fall, he suddenly, during the week, gets all the shades of red and orange. Ripening fruits look like little lanterns, they also adorn the garden.

General information, the decorative qualities

The Latin name of the shrub is translated as "glorious plant with a good name". In the wild plants of this genus live in the understory of mixed and deciduous forests, they are typical of temperate and subtropical climate of both hemispheres, sometimes found in the tropics, avoid only the most Northern areas.

Rod bereskleta combines evergreen and deciduous shrubs and low trees with rounded or quadrangular shoots, with cork growths, smooth leaves, located opposite. Flowers – inconspicuous, brownish or greenish, pale colored, bloom after the appearance of the foliage. The fruit of Euonymus is leathery, dry box, the seeds inside are white, red or brown color. In the summer it is almost invisible, blends with the foliage, but by September, becoming decorative, bright color. The color of the fruit depends on the variety of plants, most often it is shades of yellow, al, Burgundy, dark purple, but there are belplata form. On the background of bright green boxes look, like real garlands. When the main color of the Bush turns red, boxes crack, of them out the seeds with "parachutes". Fruit of the poisonous, but not so, to be seriously poisoned one or two berries.

Another decorative detail: the young shoots of the shrub are covered with brown or greenish bark. Warty Euonymus can be found in the shadow of the Russian forests, Cora had a green, covered with brown warts.

Warty Euonymus.

Warty Euonymus.

Characteristics of different varieties of Euonymus

In open space it is best to plant Euonymus maackii. In the penumbra well will feel sorta "Warty" and "European". In the shadows on the boundary of the site to have original fence from Sakhalin Euonymus or sacred, varieties grow well. For planting on the slope of the best fit is still the same Sakhalin grade or bolshegrudye, the lower branches will take root and create additional points of support. A very important quality – plants of this family are well tolerate urban conditions, they smoke- and by gas resistant.

Requirements to the soil

Bereskleta demanding to the composition of the soil, can't stand stagnation. For good growth and development requires a slightly alkaline or neutral compounds, acidic soil can be "corrected" by application of lime. For best fruiting under bushes make mineral and organic fertilizers, the clay compositions of soils – sand.

The recommended temperature

The best plants are for premises with a winter temperature for varieties with green foliage from two to eight degrees, for variegated – from six to sixteen degrees. It can be cool in winter garden, warmed loggia. In the summer of the desired temperature in reasonable limits, to 20 degrees. Too hot and dry conditions dangerous, such a climate contributes to the spread of mites.

Watering, transplanting, pruning

An irrigation schedule depends on the temperature, in winter it can be moderate and very reasonable. At the same time, the earth com should not dry out. Every year, in early spring, is transplanting young plants, these agricultural works can be enjoyed since the beginning of February. Old shrubs are transplanted less often. Do not combine pruning and transplanting with anti-aging goal. Land the mixture should be medium density, ideal: garden or turf ground, sand, compost, peat, leaf mold.

Reproduction of plants

Most types well and successfully propagated vegetatively: root suckers, dividing the Bush, green cuttings. For the latter method in the middle of summer choose elastic young shoots, cut cuttings four to six inches, which is located one internode. Selected planting material planted under film in the greenhouse, on top of fertile land poured sand layer of five to seven centimeters. A month and a half of the stalks should acquire roots.

Seed propagation is more difficult, when sowing without seed and freezing in the wild, they will germinate only in the second year. Immediately after collection, the material stratification. The procedure takes place in two stages. The seeds are mixed with the calcined coarse sand or moistened and decomposed sphagnum peat, the ratio is one to two. The mixture was kept at a temperature of from 10 to 12 degrees for three to four months. When most of the seeds will burst the shell, the temperature was lowered to zero and store the planting material in such conditions four or five months. To avoid potential rot before planting the seeds cleaned from prisiminimai, and treated with a solution of potassium permanganate.

Seeded plant material in the beds with shallow, in two centimeters, grooves, soil is the substrate of turf and ground sheet, sand and humus, ratio – 1:4:1:2. Seedlings should appear in two to three weeks. Fall and spring soil mulching with peat litter layer in three centimeters. Summer young plants are watered, make feeding mullein and sheltering spruce branches in the winter. Only in the third year young bereskleta transplanted to a permanent place of growth.

Formed bushes bereskleta, mix.

Formed bushes bereskleta, mix.

The types bereskleta

Warty Euonymus

The plant is native to the temperate latitudes of Eurasia. The shrub grows up to three meters and a half or it can be a tree up to six metres. Young shoots are green, covered with warts of black and brown. The flowers are on long peduncles. Flowering time – may-June. Mature box pink and red, seeds gray or black, procement – bright red or pinkish-orange.

Euonymus europaeus

As the name implies, homeland of the plant is the European part of the continent. A tree or Bush reaches a height of seven meters. On the branches – cork growths, they give them an original tetrahedral form. Blooms in may and June, the fruits ripen in September and October. Boxes have a pink color, the variety is drought-resistant.

Euonymus europaeus.

Euonymus europaeus.

Dwarf Euonymus

Homeland – moderate Eurasian region, shoots are positioned vertically, reach meter height. The leaves are narrow, finely toothed, fruit – greenish-yellow, ripen in August and September. Plant shade-loving, propagated by cuttings, by dividing the bushes, layering.

The winged Euonymus

Another name Euonymus sacred. Originated In The Far East, in the wild of this region reaches two meters, in the middle strip usually does not exceed one meter. Young growth is green in color, the fruit is dark red, the same color is foliage in the autumn. The shrub is shade-tolerant.

The winged Euonymus in the garden.

The winged Euonymus in the garden.

Euonymus Semenova

Homeland are the mountains of Central Asia, in these parts the shrubbery growing under the forest canopy. Height – meter, foliage yellowish-green, leathery, with short petioles, flowers – dark purple, small. Edge – green, gathered into small florets along the edges of the branches. Varieties of winter hardy and shade tolerant, prefer moderate humidity. Reproduction occurs by seeds.

Euonymus Fortune

Creeping shrub native to China, height – to 60 cm, branches up to three meters. If you have some support, the branch actively want to cling. The leaves are pointed, small, leathery. The plant is drought-resistant and by gas resistant, likes fertilized, loose soil. This is the most hardy variety of evergreen bereskleta. Withstands sun, but prefers partial shade. The breeders brought many decorative forms of plants, some varieties have yellow edging foliage, which with age, acquires a green color, and in the winter becomes red-brown. This kind of Euonymus can be grown at home, but in the winter it is necessary to provide a cool microclimate. In the middle lane bushes are grown in containers outdoors, and in the winter harvested in the cold, unheated space or provide a good shelter plantings.

Japanese Euonymus

Another name for plants "pseudolus". Homeland – the land of the Rising sun. In the middle lane grows up to a height of half a meter, in the South lianovidny acquires the form, length up to seven metres. The leaves are leathery, color – dark green. Flowers – yellowish-green, blossoms appear in June. Tolerates partial shade and air pollution. Can be grown in the house, in the bright, unheated room. Warm drops leaves.

Euonymus rooting can also live in the apartment, runners need support, leaves white-green or green.

Diseases and pests of culture

Unfortunately, Euonymus love pests. Possible, this is the main reason, influenced pretty weak dissemination of culture. Forest warty and European Euonymus breeds Apple moth, the aporia Crataegi, aphids, not only moth and cocoadev. If you plant bushes close to fruit crops, it "will delay" on all pests, and Apple and pear trees will remain clean. This feature is often used by gardeners to protect the area. The Euonymus does not allow to die, it is treated with chemicals, this method allows you to obtain maximum yields of cultivated plants, growing sesedstvo.

To combat scale insects plant spray solution aktellika, spider mites washed off with soapy water. If the shrubs were red flat mite is necessary to remove damaged leaves, Euonymus sprayed with any insecticide.

Euonymus is a good choice for the gardener, the plants are undemanding, decorative, shade. In summer, they appear to be relatively modest, but in autumn become very beautiful and attractive.

Photos of different types of Euonymus

The Euonymus in the garden, video

https://youtu.be/-JPXWb1OOjs
Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Славный бересклет

Осенний бересклет у стены дома.

Осенний бересклет у стены дома.

Красивый кустарник бересклет не слишком активно используется в декоративном садоводстве. Он хорош как в одиночных, так и в групповых посадках, при создании «живой изгороди». Крона – кружевная, небольшие листья на ветвящихся побегах создают природный, затейливый орнамент. Растение меняет окраску в течение вегетационного периода: летом кустарник темно-зеленый, осенью он вдруг, в течение недели, приобретает все оттенки красного и оранжевого. Созревающие плоды похожи на маленькие фонарики, они также очень украшают сад.

Общие сведения, декоративные качества

С латыни название кустарника переводится как «славное растение с хорошим именем». В дикой природе растения этого рода селятся в подлесках смешанных и широколиственных лесов, они характерны для умеренного и субтропического климата обоих полушарий, иногда встречаются в тропиках, избегают лишь самые северные районы.

Род бересклетовых объединяет вечнозеленые и листопадные кустарники и невысокие деревья с округлыми или четырехгранными побегами, с пробковыми наростами, гладкими листьями, расположенными супротивно. Цветы – невзрачные, буроватые или зеленоватые, бледно окрашенные, распускаются после появления листвы. Плод бересклета – это кожистая, сухая коробочка, внутри находятся семена белой, красной или коричневой окраски. Летом он почти незаметен, сливается с листвой, но к сентябрю приобретает декоративность, яркую окраску. Цвет плода зависит от сорта растения, чаще всего это оттенки желтого, алого, бордового, темно-пурпурного, но есть и белоплодная форма. На фоне зелени яркие коробочки смотрятся, как настоящие гирлянды. Когда основная окраска куста становится красной, коробочки трескаются, из них вылетают семена на «парашютах». Плоды ядовиты, но не настолько, чтобы можно было серьезно отравиться одной-двумя ягодами.

Еще одна декоративная деталь: молодые побеги кустарника покрыты коричневой или зеленоватой корой. Бересклет бородавчатый можно встретить в тени российских лесов, кора у него зеленая, покрыта бурыми бородавками.

Бересклет бородавчатый.

Бересклет бородавчатый.

Особенности разных сортов бересклета

На открытом пространстве лучше высаживать бересклет Маака. В полутени хорошо будет себя чувствовать сорта «Бородавчатый» и «Европейский». В тени на границе участка можно устроить оригинальную изгородь из бересклета сахалинского или священного, сорта хорошо разрастаются. Для посадок на склоне лучше всего подойдет все тот же сахалинский сорт или большекрылый, нижние ветки укоренятся и создадут дополнительные точки опоры. Очень важное качество – растения из этого семейства неплохо переносят городские условия, они дымо- и газоустойчивы.

Требования к почве

Бересклеты требовательны к составу грунта, не выносят застойных явлений. Для хорошего роста и развития необходимы слабощелочные или нейтральные составы, кислые почвы можно «исправить» внесением извести. Для лучшего плодоношения под кусты вносят минеральные и органические удобрения, в глинистые составы почвы – песок.

Рекомендуемые температуры

Лучшими для растения являются помещения с зимней температурой для сортов с зеленой листвой – от двух до восьми градусов, для пестролистных – от шести до шестнадцати градусов. Это может быть прохладный зимний сад, утепленная лоджия. Летом желательна температура в умеренных пределах, до 20 градусов. Слишком жаркие и сухие условия опасны, такой климат способствует распространению клеща.

Полив, пересаживание, обрезка

График полива зависит от температуры, зимой он может быть умеренным и очень умеренным. В то же время земляной ком не должен сильно пересыхать. Ежегодно, ранней весной, проводится пересаживание молодых растений, этими агротехническими работами можно заниматься с начала февраля. Старые кусты пересаживают реже. Не следует совмещать пересадку и обрезку с омолаживающей целью. Земельная смесь должна быть средней плотности, идеальный вариант: садовая или дерновая земля, песок, компост, торф, листовой перегной.

Размножение растения

Большинство видов хорошо и успешно размножается вегетативным путем: корневыми отпрысками, делением куста, зелеными черенками. Для последнего способа посредине лета выбирают упругие молодые побеги, нарезают черенки по четыре-шесть сантиметров, на которых расположено одно междоузлие. Отобранный посадочный материал высаживают под пленку в парник, поверх плодородной земли насыпают песчаный слой в пять-семь сантиметров. Через полтора месяца черешки должны обзавестись корнями.

Размножение семенами сложнее, при посеве без промораживания семян и в дикой природе они прорастут только на второй год. Сразу после сбора материал стратифицируют. Процедура проходит в два этапа. Семена перемешивают с прокаленным крупнозернистым песком или увлажненным и разложившимся сфагновым торфом, соотношение – один к двум. Смесь выдерживают при температуре от 10 до 12 градусов в течение трех-четырех месяцев. Когда у большинства семян лопнет оболочка, температуру снижают до нуля и хранят посадочный материал в таких условиях еще четыре-пять месяцев. Чтобы избежать возможного загнивания перед закладкой семечки очищают от присеменников, и обрабатывают раствором марганцовки.

Высевают посадочный материал в грядки с неглубокими, в два сантиметра, бороздками, почва – субстрат из дерновой и листовой земли, песка и перегноя, соотношение – 1:4:1:2. Всходы должны появиться через две-три недели. Осенью и весной почву мульчируют торфяной крошкой слоем в три сантиметра. Летом молодые растения поливают, производят подкормку коровяком и укрывают лапником на зиму. Лишь на третий год юные бересклеты пересаживают на постоянное место произрастания.

Сформированные кусты бересклетов, микс.

Сформированные кусты бересклетов, микс.

Виды бересклетов

Бересклет бородавчатый

Родиной растения являются умеренные широты Евразии. Кустарник вырастает до трех с половиной метров или это может быть дерево высотой до шести метров. Молодые побеги имеют зеленую окраску, покрыты бородавками черно-бурого цвета. Цветы расположены на длинных цветоносах. Время цветения – май-июнь. Зрелая коробочка розово-красного цвета, семена серые или черные, присеменник – ярко-красный или розовато-оранжевый.

Бересклет европейский

Как следует из названия, родиной растения является Европейская часть материка. Дерево или куст достигает высоты в семь метров. На ветвях – пробковые наросты, они придают им оригинальную четырехгранную форму. Цветет в мае и июне, плоды зреют в сентябре и октябре. Коробочки имеют розовую окраску, сорт засухоустойчивый.

Бересклет европейский.

Бересклет европейский.

Карликовый бересклет

Родина – умеренные евразийские области, побеги расположены вертикально, достигают метровой высоты. Листья узкие, мелкозубчатые, плоды – зеленовато-желтые, зреют в августе и сентябре. Растение тенелюбиво, размножается черенками, делением кустов, отводками.

Бересклет крылатый

Другое название – бересклет священный. Родина – Дальний Восток, в дикой природе данного региона достигает двухметровой высоты, в средней полосе обычно не превышает одного метра. Молодая поросль имеет зеленую окраску, плоды – темно-красные, такого же цвета становится листва осенью. Кустарник теневынослив.

Бересклет крылатый в саду.

Бересклет крылатый в саду.

Бересклет Семенова

Родиной вида являются горы Средней Азии, в этих краях кустарник растет под пологом леса. Высота – до метра, листва – желтовато-зеленая, кожистая, с короткими черешками, цветы – темно-пурпурные, мелкие. Края – зеленоватые, собраны в небольшие соцветия по краям веток. Сорта зимостойки и теневыносливы, предпочитают умеренную влажность. Размножение происходит семенами.

Бересклет Форчуна

Стелящийся кустарник родом из Китая, высота – до 60 см, ветви – до трех метров. Если есть опора, то ветки активно за неё цепляются. Листья заостренные, мелкие, кожистые. Растение засухоустойчиво и газоустойчиво, любит удобренные, рыхлые почвы. Это самый морозоустойчивый сорт из вечнозеленых бересклетов. Выдерживает открытое солнце, но предпочитает полутень. Селекционеры вывели много декоративных форм растения, некоторые сорта имеют желтую окантовку листвы, которая с возрастом приобретает зеленую окраску, а зимой становится красно-бурой. Этот вид бересклета можно выращивать дома, но в зимнее время ему необходимо обеспечить прохладный микроклимат. В средней полосе кустарник выращивают в контейнерах на открытом воздухе, а на зиму убирают в холодные, неотапливаемые помещения или обеспечивают качественное укрытие посадок.

Бересклет японский

Еще одно название растения – «псевдолавр». Родина – Страна Восходящего солнца. В средней полосе растет высотой до полуметра, на юге приобретает лиановидную форму, длина – до семи метров. Листья кожистые, окраска – темно-зеленая. Цветы – желтовато-зеленые, соцветия появляются в июне. Хорошо переносит полутень и загрязнения воздуха. Можно выращивать в доме, в светлой и неотапливаемой комнате. В тепле сбрасывает листья.

Бересклет укореняющийся также может жить в квартире, ползучие побеги нуждаются в опоре, листья – бело-зеленые или зеленые.

Болезни и вредители культуры

К сожалению, бересклет очень любят вредители. Возможно, именно эта причина является главной, повлиявшей на довольно слабое распространение культуры. На лесном бородавчатом и европейском бересклете гнездится яблоневая моль, боярышница, тля, нет только плодожорки и цветоедов. Если высадить кустарник вблизи плодовых культур, то он «оттянет» на себя всех вредителей, а яблони или груши останутся чистыми. Эта особенность часто используется садоводами для защиты участка. Бересклету не дают погибнуть, его обрабатывают химикатами, такой способ позволяет получить полноценный урожай культурных растений, растущих по сеседству.

Для борьбы со щитовкой растение опрыскивают раствором актеллика, паутинный клещ смывается мыльным раствором. Если на кустарнике появился красный плоский клещ – необходимо удалить поврежденные листья, бересклет опрыскивают любым инсектицидом.

Бересклет – хороший выбор для садовода, растения неприхотливы, декоративны, теневыносливы. В летнее время они выглядят достаточно скромно, но в осеннюю пору становятся очень красивыми и привлекательными.

Фото разных видов бересклета

Бересклет в саду, видео

https://youtu.be/-JPXWb1OOjs
Понравилась статья ? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!