Ornamental shrubs: what to choose?

In the photo: decorative plum blossom.

In the photo: decorative plum blossom.

Most flowering ornamental shrubs – leaseline, shed leaves in winter. The main time of flowering of the crops – spring, the beginning of the summer season. Only some plants bloom in late summer. Long-lived plants are pleasing to the eye from may-June until early autumn, evergreen can decorate the garden in winter.

Inland areas evergreen shrubs need protection from the wind, partial shade: in open areas they can be affected in the off-season, and in the winter time. Large-flowered rhododendrons for the proper development need a wet, rich in humus and humus, soil.

The conifers, in contrast deciduous and evergreen crops, there is an advantage: shrubs such undemanding to soil and climatic conditions. Extremely unpretentious mountain pine and common juniper. Yew grows well even in shade.

Deciduous ornamental shrubs

Ginseng barbed

Siberian ginseng or ginseng barbed – culture high, can reach two to three meters. Prickly branches, compound leaves and green-white umbels of flowers bloom in June or July, in their place by small black fruits. This kind of not afraid of cold.

Ginseng barbed.

Ginseng barbed.

Small-flowered horse chestnut

The shrub prefers fresh and rich in humus soil. Blooms in July and August, develops quickly, reaches a height of from one to five meters.

Buddleja Davidii

During flowering, it lasts from July to October, Bush attracts many butterflies. Branches widely scattered, the plant reaches a height of two to three meters. The flowers are arranged in long panicles. Every year, in early spring, the bushes are heavily pruned to produce new shoots and more abundant flowering. In winter, the plant is insulated. There are many varieties baddley David with rich colors. Even one Bush, blooming in late summer, able to give a special charm to a small plot.

Buddleja ocherednolistny or summer lilac. The shrub reaches a height of two to three meters, growing loosely, lanceolate leaves, dark green, bottom – whitish fuzz. Blooms in June. The best conditions are Sunny plot, protected from the wind, soil – scarce, not very humid. After flowering shoots are cut off with scissors.

Purpleberry Japanese

Plant low, to 1,5 meters, flowers pale purple or white, are replaced by small fruits of purple. Culture moisture- and light.

Purpleberry Japanese.

Purpleberry Japanese.

Sumac common

Leafy shrub from three to four meters in height, is among the notable cultures with inconspicuous flowers and beautiful, feathery seed heads. Autumn foliage turns yellow cover, orange and wine red. The plant loves the sun, easily tolerates dry sandy soil. Sumac looks good in a small garden is a natural plan.

Daphne mezereum

The main drawback of culture is, its fruits are very poisonous. Bush small, meter, in March can blossom scented, Carmine flowers. Bright red fruits appear in summer. Daphne loves nutrient-rich soil, tolerates partial shade.

Hydrangea tree

Low Bush, large greenish-white flowers decorate its from July to October. Hydrangea paniculata growing up to two meters in height. Large loose panicles are initially white in color, then become reddish. Flowering time: August-September. Culture loves rich humus, moist soil, grows well in partial shade, can die from the sun and lack of moisture. The best place for planting in the garden – a shadow in the area. Seedlings, planted directly into open ground, survives poorly. Better to put it in large tubs, and then planted in a shady area.

Kerria Japanese

Fast growing shrub with densely planted with slender branches, tender leaves, simple yellow flowers, appearing in may. Does not tolerate dry soil, grows well in the shade. Shoots grow quickly, in General, the hive is convenient to use in a natural garden plantings. There are varieties with double flowers.

Kerria Japanese.

Kerria Japanese.

Kolkwitzia pleasant

Almost unknown ornamental shrub up to two metres in height, actively growing in breadth. Bells pale pink, covered with yellowish spots, flowering time – may, June. Contraindicated too dry soil, in the shadows grows worse, than the sun. If you find a suitable piece of beauty – it will be an ornament to any garden.

Mock orange

Tall plant with drooping branches and flowers, star-shaped. The full force of culture develops on the spacious place. Otherwise the shrub is undemanding, tolerates partial shade, white flowers bloom in June.

Decorative drain

Plum woody blood red – garden view plum spread, height up to six meters, leaves red-brown. Flowers – white, with a delicate pink tinge. Prefers a Sunny position, tolerates partial shade. Plum three-blade or almonds – a small shrub with long thin branches, soft pink double flowers. Mandatory pruning, otherwise, the plant is aging prematurely and is pathetic. Almonds are planted in a small garden or area to relax close to home.

Sumac vinegar

Luxusnich – large shrub, branch – dark brown, sparse, plant height – up to five meters. Leaves pinnate, light green, in autumn they turn orange, yellow and red tones. Culture unpretentious, grows on dry, and in moist soils. Grows well on Sunny outdoor area. The root shoots are easily cut off with a shovel, you can use them for breeding. Ucesnik like space, it is planted on a plot of turf or next to the low bushes.

Sumac vinegar.

Sumac vinegar.

Currant blood-red

The plant blooms in April or may, height up to two meters. Very similar to the garden currants. On moist soil, plenty of fruit, tolerates shade, special soil preference no.

Rose noble, dog, shrub

The well-known garden plant, needs care and constant attention from the gardener. For the small private gardens are suitable rose shrub, garden, dog. Grow well under favorable conditions, maintenance more, than other ornamental shrubs. Plants love the sun and loamy soil containing lime. Look good in the outdoor area, bloom from June until autumn. Depending on the kind of bushes can reach from one to three or four metres.

Yellow may rose and rose Apple Japanese yellow-red or pink-white flowers reach a height of one to two meters.

Dog or garden rose with white or pink flowers grows more than two meters in height, leaves – red-brown-blue, flowers Carmine-pink. The same growth can boast of a shrub rose or wild Scottish.

Shrub rose color Berlin colors with a tint of red cinnabar and yellow center adorn the garden in summer, rose "Elmshorn" with bright red flowers in autumn.

There are many varieties of these roses, refilled almost every year. Thick Terry or semi-double flowers in bunches are especially advantageous to look at the background of conifers or of deciduous and evergreen crops.

Kalina

Moderately growing shrub – Kalina Korean. Height up to two meters, leaves and shoots covered with grey fuzz. The flowers are at first pink, then become white, the time of flowering and the end of April and beginning of may. Kalina loves the sun or partial shade, grows in cultivated soil, will enliven even the smallest garden.

Shrub up to three metres in height – fragrant viburnum. Growing, flowers – tubular, with a delicate aroma. Grows well in areas with little shading. Kalina common prefers moist soil, height – up to four meters. Neighbors of the plant are usually brittle Kruchinin, Euonymus europaeus, Privet. The leaves look similar to maple, fall is painted in a fiery red tone. Red fruits appear in may. Culture looks good in natural gardens in semidarkness or Sunny places. Known varieties of viburnum ordinary – "Roseum". Flowers – greenish-white, sometimes with a reddish tinge, Terry. Inflorescences so much, what branches under their weight bend down.

Barberry

Upright, up to five feet in height, shrub. Barberry Gagnepain blooms yellow flowers in June, fruit – blue. Julian Barberry – growing, up to two meters in height, flowers – red-yellow, flowering time: may and June. Barberry Wilson – low, gastrostomy, up to a meter in height, Golden-yellow flowers, berries – coral. All three species – evergreen, special requirements to the soil did not show, should be protected from drafts and strong winds. In late autumn the bushes well watered. The best places to placement area, rocky slope. Plants-partners – low shrubs, Heather, soft grass.

Evergreen boxwood

Ornamental plant grows in a very beautiful thick Bush, there are instances of up to eight meters in height. Grows slowly, tolerates severe pruning, from it form a hedge and a single landing in balls, pyramids, animals. For normal growth need moist soil, tolerate short-term drought. The plant is shade-tolerant, tolerates root pressure high cultures. Very convenient for shady front gardens and enclosed gardens. There is a dwarf form for use in the design phase.

Broom early

Unusual wood culture with early leaf drop. Branches thick, beautiful hanging, can serve as design of the garden all year round. Flowers – bright yellow, similar to moths, exude a pungent smell. Broom or gorse blossoms in may, prefers sandy soil and Sunny areas. It tolerates severe pruning, in the winter time may suffer.

Broom early.

Broom early.

Euonymus Fortune

Variegated wood culture used to grow on the trellis. Beautiful culture with drooping bunches of scarlet fruits. To the soil picky, shade, tolerates sun.

Butcher

Tall crop with a leather-like sheets, surface – dark green, the lower part of lamina – light green, Matt. Inconspicuous flowers and the fruits of coral color, which persist on the branches until winter. Grows best in partial shade, under the canopy of tall trees. Butcher looks good in small group plantings.

Rhododendron

This culture is the result of hard and painstaking work of breeders. Height from one meter up to three. The plant likes acidic soil, rich in humus, it grows well on sandy soils, fertilized with compost, humus or stagnate a bed of pine needles. You can make any fertilizer, but without lime. In dry and hot climates, it is necessary to choose polystannanes plot. In the open field culture is better not to plant. The soil under rhododendron can be improved by planting periwinkle or wild ginger. Plant-companion – Heather. Water the rhododendron is better established rainwater.

Rhododendron Caucasian blooms white flowers in may. Low-growing hardy plant. There are varieties with pink, purple, red or purple flowers. Alpine rose rhododendron rawality more low-growing varieties, to 80 cm in height, grow well in rocky soils.

Yellow rhododendron and Japanese is summer azaleas with orange, yellowish-pink and yellow flowers, which appear at the end of April. Cultures are not evergreen. Rhododendron hybrid, and pointed to two species with small flowers, creating interesting garden composition. Plants companions: snow Heather, the witch hazel.

Most of these cultures – a little-known, they are so popular among gardeners, as rose or rhododendrons. But they are beautiful and not inferior in originality and effectiveness of the Queen and the kings garden. Every culture has its own, unique flavor.

Photos of different types of ornamental shrubs

Video about growing ornamental shrubs

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Декоративные кустарники: что выбрать?

На фото: декоративная слива в цвету.

На фото: декоративная слива в цвету.

Большинство цветущих декоративных кустарников – летнезеленые, сбрасывающие листву на зиму. Основное время цветения таких культур – весна, начало летнего сезона. Лишь некоторые культуры цветут поздним летом. Долгоживущие растения радуют глаз с мая-июня до начала осени, вечнозеленые способны украшать сад зимой.

В удаленных от моря местах вечнозеленые кустарники нуждаются в защите от ветра, полутени: на открытых участках они могут пострадать как в период межсезонья, так и в зимнее время. Крупноцветковым рододендронам для правильного развития нужны влажные, богатые гумусом и перегноем, почвы.

У хвойников, в отличие от вечнозеленых лиственных культур, есть преимущество: такие кустарники нетребовательны к почвенным и климатическим условиям. На редкость неприхотливы горная сосна и можжевельник обыкновенный. Тис хорошо развивается даже в тени.

Листопадные декоративные кустарники

Женьшень колючий

Элеутерококк или женьшень колючий – культура высокая, может достигать двух-трех метров. Колючие ветви, сложные листья и зелено-белые зонтики цветов распускаются в июне или июле, на их месте образуются черные маленькие плоды. Этот вид не боится морозов.

Женьшень колючий.

Женьшень колючий.

Мелкоцветковый конский каштан

Кустарник предпочитает свежую и богатую перегноем почву. Цветет в июле и августе, развивается быстро, достигает в высоту от одного до пяти метров.

Буддлея Давида

Во время цветения, оно длится с июля по октябрь, куст привлекает множество бабочек. Ветви широко раскинуты, растение достигает высоты двух-трех метров. Цветы располагаются на длинных метелках. Ежегодно, ранней весной, кусты сильно обрезают для формирования новых побегов и более обильного цветения. На зиму растение утепляют. Существует много сортов буддлеи Давида с богатой цветовой гаммой. Даже один куст, цветущий поздним летом, способен придать особое очарование небольшому участку.

Буддлея очереднолистная или летняя сирень. Кустарник достигает в высоту два-три метра, растет рыхло, ланцетовидные листья – темно-зеленые, снизу – беловатый пушок. Цветет в июне. Лучшие условия – солнечный участок, защищенный от ветра, почва – не скудная, не очень влажная. После цветения побеги обрезают ножницами.

Калликарпа японская

Растение невысокое, до 1,5 метров, цветы – бледно-пурпурные или белые, сменяются маленькими плодами фиолетового цвета. Культура влаго- и светолюбива.

Калликарпа японская.

Калликарпа японская.

Скумпия обыкновенная

Густолиственный куст от трех до четырех метров в высоту, относится к числу примечательных культур с невзрачными цветами и красивыми, перистыми соплодиями. Осенью лиственный покров становится желтым, оранжевым и винно-красным. Растение любит солнце, легко переносит песчаные сухие почвы. Скумпия хорошо выглядит в небольшом саду естественной планировки.

Волчеягодник обыкновенный

Главный недостаток культуры в том, что её плоды очень ядовиты. Куст небольшой, до метра, уже в марте могут распуститься душистые, карминные цветы. Яркие красные плоды появляются летом. Волчеягодник любит богатые питательными веществами почвы, переносит полутень.

Гортензия древовидная

Низкий куст, большие зеленовато-белые цветы украшают его с июля по октябрь. Гортензия метельчатая растет до двух метров в высоту. Большие рыхлые метелки сначала имеют белую окраску, затем приобретают красноватый оттенок. Время цветения: август-сентябрь. Культура любит богатые перегноем, влажные почвы, хорошо растет в полутени, может погибнуть от солнца и недостатка влаги. Лучшее место для посадки в саду – тень у уголка для отдыха. Рассада, высаженная сразу в открытый грунт, плохо приживается. Лучше сначала помещать её в большие кадки, а уже потом высаживать на тенистый участок.

Керрия японская

Быстрорастущий кустарник с густо посаженными стройными ветвями, нежными листьями, простыми желтыми цветами, появляющимися в мае. Не переносит сухие почвы, хорошо растет в тени. Побеги растут быстро, в целом куст удобно использовать в естественных садовых посадках. Есть сорта с махровыми цветами.

Керрия японская.

Керрия японская.

Кольквиция приятная

Почти неизвестный декоративный кустарник до двух метров в высоту, активно растет вширь. Колокольчики нежно-розовые, покрыты желтоватыми пятнами, время цветения – май, июнь. Противопоказаны слишком сухие почвы, в тени растет хуже, чем на солнце. Если найти для кольквиции подходящий участок – она послужит украшением любого сада.

Чубушник

Высокорослое растение со свисающими ветвями и цветами звездчатой формы. В полную силу культура развивается на просторном месте. В остальном кустарник неприхотлив, переносит полутень, белые цветы распускаются в июне.

Декоративная слива

Слива Вуди кроваво-красная – садовый вид сливы растопыренной, высота – до шести метров, листья – красно-бурые. Цветы – белые, с нежным розовым налетом. Предпочитает солнечные места, переносит полутень. Слива трехлопастная или миндаль – небольшой кустарник с длинными и тонкими ветвями, нежными розовыми махровыми цветами. Необходима обязательная обрезка, в противном случае растение преждевременно стареет и имеет жалкий вид. Миндаль высаживается в небольшом палисаднике или в уголке для отдыха недалеко от дома.

Сумах уксусный

Уксусник – большой кустарник, ветви – темно-коричневые, негустые, высота растения – до пяти метров. Листья – перистые, светло-зеленые, в осенний период они окрашиваются в оранжевые, желтые и красные тона. Культура неприхотлива, растет и на сухих, и на влажных почвах. Хорошо развивается на солнечном открытом участке. Корневые отростки легко отсекаются лопатой, их можно использовать для размножения. Уксусник любит простор, его высаживают на участке с дерном или по соседству с низкими кустами.

Сумах уксусный.

Сумах уксусный.

Смородина кроваво-красная

Растение цветет в апреле или в мае, высота – до двух метров. Очень похоже на садовую смородину. На влажной почве обильно плодоносит, хорошо переносит тень, особых почвенных предпочтений нет.

Розы благородные, собачьи, кустарниковые

Самое известное садовое растение, нуждается в уходе и постоянном внимании со стороны садовода. Для частных небольших садов подходят роза кустовидная, садовая, собачья. Хорошо растут при благоприятных условиях, не требуют ухода больше, чем другие декоративные кустарники. Растения любят солнце и суглинки с содержанием извести. Хорошо смотрятся на открытом участке, цветут с июня до осени. В зависимости от вида кусты могут достигать от одного до трех-четырех метров.

Желтая майская роза и роза японская яблочная с желто-красными или розово-белыми цветами достигают в высоту от одного до двух метров.

Собачья или садовая роза с белыми или розовыми цветами растет более двух метров в высоту, листья – красно-буро-голубоватые, цветы – карминно-розовые. Таким же ростом может похвастаться кустарниковая роза или дикая шотландская.

Кустарниковая роза цвета «Берлин» с цветами оттенка красной киновари и желтой серединкой украсит сад летом, роза «Эльмсгорн» с ярко-красными цветами – осенью.

Существует множество сортов этих роз, которые пополняются едва ли не каждый год. Плотные махровые или полумахровые пучки цветов особенно выигрышно смотрятся на фоне из хвойников или вечнозеленых лиственных культур.

Калина

Умеренно растущий кустарник – калина корейская. Высота – до двух метров, листья и побеги покрыты серым пушком. Цветы сначала розовые, затем становятся белыми, время цветения – конец апреля и начало мая. Калина любит солнце или полутень, растет на окультуренной почве, оживит даже маленький сад.

Кустарник до трех метров в высоту – калина душистая. Растет прямо, цветы – трубчатые, с тонким ароматом. Хорошо растет на участках с небольшой затененностью. Калина обыкновенная предпочитает влажные почвы, высота – до четырех метров. Соседями растения часто являются крушинник ломкий, бересклет европейский, бирючина. Листва похожа на кленовую, осенью окрашивается в огненно-красные тона. Красны плоды появляются в мае. Культура хорошо выглядит в естественных садах на полузатененных или солнечных местах. Известный сорт калины обыкновенной – «Розеум». Цветки – зеленовато-белые, иногда с красноватым оттенком, махровые. Соцветий так много, что ветви под их тяжестью гнутся книзу.

Барбарис

Пряморастущий, до полутора метров в высоту, кустарник. Барбарис Ганьепена цветет желтыми цветами в июне, плоды – голубые. Барбарис Юлиана – быстрорастущий, до двух метров в высоту, цветы – красно-желтые, время цветения: май и июнь. Барбарис Вильсона – низкий, густорастущий, до метра в высоту, золотисто-желтые цветы, ягоды – коралловые. Все три вида – вечнозеленые, особых требований к почве не предъявляют, по возможности должны быть защищены от сквозняков и сильных ветров. Поздней осенью кусты хорошо поливают. Лучшие места для размещения – уголок отдыха, каменистый склон. Растения-партнеры – низкие кустарники, вереск, мягкие травы.

Вечнозеленый самшит

Декоративное растение вырастает в очень красивый густой куст, встречаются экземпляры до восьми метров в высоту. Растет медленно, переносит сильную обрезку, из него формируют изгороди и одиночные посадки в виде шаров, пирамид, животных. Для нормального роста нужна влажная почва, переносит кратковременные засухи. Растение теневыносливое, переносит корневое давление высоких культур. Очень удобно для тенистых палисадников и огороженных садов. Есть карликовая форма для декоративного оформления участка.

Ракитник ранний

Необычная древесная культура с ранним опаданием листьев. Ветви – густые, красиво свисающие, могут служить оформлением сада круглый год. Цветы – ярко-желтые, похожие на мотыльков, источают острый запах. Ракитник или дрок цветет в мае, предпочитает песчаные почвы и солнечные участки. Хорошо переносит сильную обрезку, в зимнее время может пострадать.

Ракитник ранний.

Ракитник ранний.

Бересклет Форчуна

Пестролистная древесная культура используется для выращивания на шпалерах. Красивая культура со свисающими гроздьями алых плодов. К почве непривередлива, теневынослива, хорошо переносит солнце.

Иглица

Высокорослая культура с кожеподобными листьями, поверхность – темно-зеленая, нижняя часть листовых пластинок – светло-зеленая, матовая. Неприметные цветы и плоды кораллового цвета, которые сохраняются на ветвях до зимы. Лучше всего развивается в полутени, под кроной высоких деревьев. Иглица хорошо выглядит в небольших групповых посадках.

Рододендрон

Данная культура – результат усиленной и кропотливой работы селекционеров. Высота – от метра до трех. Растение любит кислую почву, богатую перегноем, хорошо развивается на песчаных грунтах, удобренных компостом, перегноем или перестоявшейся подстилкой из хвои. Можно вносить любые удобрения, но без извести. В сухом и жарком климате надо подобрать полузатемненный участок. На открытых местах культуру лучше не высаживать. Почву под рододендроном можно облагородить посадками барвинка или копытня. Растение-компаньон – вереск. Поливать рододендрон лучше устоявшейся дождевой водой.

Рододендрон кавказский цветет белыми цветами в мае. Низкорослое выносливое растение. Есть сорта с розовыми, пурпурными, красными или лиловыми цветами. Альпийская роза и рододендрон ржаволистный – еще более низкорослые сорта, до 80 см в высоту, хорошо растут на каменистых почвах.

Рододендрон желтый и японский – это летние азалии с оранжевыми, желтовато-розовыми и желтыми цветами, которые появляются в конце апреля. Культуры не являются вечнозелеными. Рододендрон гибридный и остроконечный – два вида с некрупными цветами, образующими интересные садовые композиции. Растения-компаньоны: снежный вереск, гаммамелис.

Большинство из перечисленных культур – малоизвестны, они не пользуются такой популярностью среди садоводов, как роза или рододендроны. Но они по-своему красивы и ничуть не уступят по оригинальности и эффектности королеве и королям сада. В каждой культуре есть своя, неповторимая изюминка.

Фото разных видов декоративных кустарников

Видео о выращивании декоративных кустарников

YouTube Трейлер
Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!