Fragrant mock orange: species and varieties

Mock orange in the garden.

Mock orange in the garden.

General information, historical note

The Latin name of the plant comes from two words "brother" and "love", this indicates the presence of closely spaced oppositely shoots. In the culture of the mock oranges were introduced in Malaya and Eastern Asia, in Central America, in the twelfth-thirteenth century. In Russia, the bushes spread along with roses and lilacs, the landing was decorated with knights and Royal gardens. In Europe, plants of the Asian and American origin appeared in the first half of the nineteenth century. Description of species and varieties of garden mock orange is given a prominent place in European horticultural and dendrological literature.

Filling your garden a wonderful aroma of mock orange shrubs can be of different size and shape. One is the combination of tenderness and practicality. Some varieties of plants can be the basis for the construction of hedges, to create a wonderful landscape compositions.

The most popular varieties

Variegata

In addition to traditional fragrant flowers, this mock orange has bicolored leaves: the Central part of the plate green, the edges are bright banding. Flowers – white, with a creamy middle. Crown spreading, dense, diameter up to two meters and a half. The variety blooms in may and early June. In August, the spot colors appear in the boxes with seeds.

"Variegata" grows well in partial shade and full sun, does not like stagnant water and low temperature. Supplemental feeding with mineral fertilizers and manure reacts lush blooms and rapid growth of the crown. In the winter culture in need of shelter. Planting done in the spring, before the appearance of the foliage, or in the autumn season, from mid-September to October. Grade is used to construct hedges, create a beautiful garden compositions.

Snow storm

From the name blows cold and romance. The feature of variety in that, the whole shrub in the flowering period literally hiding tassels white Terry colors and really resembles a snowball. Leaves – monochrome, bright green. The variety also can not stand wet, stagnant soils, loves the sun. "Snow storm" has good frost resistance, in the shelter need only a one-year seedlings.

Shrub height up to three meters, blooms in July, needs removal of shoots older than four years. The plant is susceptible to aphids, requires timely processing. This variety can be used for single landings and for forming hedges.

Mock orange varieties "Snow storm".

Mock orange cultivar “snow storm”.

Aureus

Chubushnik coronal unusual color of the leaves: in the spring they are yellow, gradually green, and in autumn and fall off the green. Reverse the sequence of the change of color is very original and draws attention. Flowers small size, inflorescence not visible on the background foliage. Fragrance – magic, plant height – up to two and a half meters, blooms in late may. The growth of young shoots can be accelerated by removing old branches. Variety requires regular watering, fertilizing.

Pearl

The flowers of this variety by the standards of mock orange is huge – up to seven centimeters in diameter. Foliage green, bright, branches red – brown. Height a small shrub up to five feet. The variety grows well in the middle lane, and the South. Tolerates winter temperatures down to – 25 degrees. Prefers fertilized soil, Sunny areas of the garden. The low height of the culture allows its use in the design of gardens and for planting in flowerbeds.

Air assault

Flowers varieties, so the original name is very similar to the bells. They can be traditionally white or cream, stamens – bright yellow. Aroma reminiscent of the smell of strawberries, for this reason, the shrub is often called strawberry. Height up to two meters, blooms in early July. Agricultural practices – the same, as for the other varieties. The peculiarity is, that strawberry mock orange grows well in the shade. Disease resistant, hardy, grows well in Central. Can be used in single and group plantings, they make beds and lawns.

Varieties of mock orange "Air assault".

Varieties of mock orange “Air assault”.

Gordon

Grade Gordon boasts a delicate and light flavor. Quality decorative plants not only underlines white flowers, but also large glossy leaves. The bushes high, up to four meters, it blooms in mid-June. Require regular removal of old branches, mock orange is more like a Bush, and spreading tree.

Lemoine

A hybrid of common and small-leaved mock orange. The crown reaches a diameter of three meters and a half. The flowers are white, very strong flavor. The leaves are dark green, large, turn yellow in the fall. Can bloom twice a year in a warm and prolonged autumn. Tolerates partial shade, hardy. Used to create hedges, clearance sections, looks great next to other types and varieties of mock oranges.

Dwarf

Ananthous grade. The Bush is stunted, up to half a meter, has bright leaves, small, gear, Krone dense. Variety is very winter hardy, tolerates all types of soils, requires almost no maintenance. Used to create small borders, landed on beds. The feature of variety in that, that due to good branching shrub can be subjected to formative pruning, giving it a different shape.

Not blooming mock orange, grade "Dwarf".

Not blooming mock orange, the cultivar “Dwarf”.

Alabaster

Flowers semi-double, white, inflorescence large. The oval leaves, green, size – medium. Branches spreading, durable, plant height – up to 1,8 m. Requires annual pruning. Loves Sunny places, in the shade does not bloom. The variety is hardy, grows well under medium latitudes, not tolerate acidic and saline soils. Will be happy fertilizing and regular watering. Used for single plantings and for hedges.

Each of these varieties has its own unique look. The aroma and beauty of the shrub have long captured the hearts of professional landscape designers and gardeners.

Photo of different varieties of mock orange

Mock orange in the garden, video

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Ароматный чубушник: виды и сорта

Чубушник в саду.

Чубушник в саду.

Общие сведения, историческая справка

Латинское название растения происходит от двух слов «брат» и «любить», это указывает на наличие тесно сближенных супротивных побегов. В культуру чубушники были введены в Малой и Восточной Азии, в Центральной Америке, в двенадцатом-тринадцатом веке. В России кусты распространялись вместе с розами и сиренью, посадки украшали боярские и царские сады. В Европе растения азиатского и американского происхождения появились в первой половине девятнадцатого века. Описанию видов и сортов садового чубушника отводится заметное место в европейской садоводческой и дендрологической литературе.

Наполняющие сад прекрасным ароматом кусты чубушника могут быть разного размера и формы. Единым является сочетание нежности и практичности. Некоторые сорта растения могут стать основой для сооружения живой изгороди, для создания чудесных ландшафтных композиций.

Самые популярные сорта

Вариегата

Кроме традиционных ароматных цветов, этот чубушник имеет двуцветные листья: центральная часть пластинки — зеленая, по краям расположена светлая окантовка. Цветы – белые, с кремовой серединкой. Крона раскидистая, густая, диаметр – до двух с половиной метров. Цветет сорт в мае и начале июня. В августе на месте цветов появляются коробочки с семенами.

«Вариегата» отлично растет в полутени и на солнечных участках, не любит застойные воды и низкие температуры. На подкормку минеральными удобрениями и навозом реагирует пышным цветением и быстрым приростом кроны. В зимнее время культура нуждается в укрытии. Посадки делают весной, до появления листвы, или в осеннее межсезонье, с середины сентября по октябрь. Сорт используется для сооружения живой изгороди, создания красивых садовых композиций.

Снежная буря

От названия веет холодом и романтикой. Особенность сорта в том, что весь куст в период цветения буквально укрывается кистями белых махровых цветов и действительно напоминает снежный ком. Листва – однотонная, ярко-зеленая. Сорт также не выносит влажных, застойных почв, любит солнце. «Снежная буря» отличается хорошей морозоустойчивостью, в укрытии нуждаются только однолетние саженцы.

Высота кустарника – до трех метров, цветет в июле, нуждается в удалении побегов старше четырех лет. Растение подвержено заражению тлей, требует своевременной обработки. Данный сорт может использоваться для одиночных посадок и для формирования живых изгородей.

Чубушник сорта "Снежная буря".

Чубушник сорта «Снежная буря».

Ауреус

Венечный чубушник с необычным цветом листьев: весной они желтые, постепенно зеленеют, а осенью так и опадают зелеными. Обратная последовательность смены окраски очень оригинальна и привлекает внимание. Цветы небольшого размера, соцветия мало заметны на фоне листвы. Аромат – волшебен, высота растения – до двух с половиной метров, цветет в конце мая. Рост молодых побегов можно ускорить удалением старых ветвей. Сорт требует регулярного полива, подкормок.

Жемчуг

Цветы этого сорта по меркам чубушника огромны – до семи сантиметров в диаметре. Листва – зеленая, яркая, ветви – красно-коричневые. Высота кустарника невелика – до полутора метров. Сорт хорошо растет как в средней полосе, так и на юге. Хорошо переносит зимы с температурами до – 25 градусов. Предпочитает удобренные почвы, солнечные участки сада. Небольшая высота культуры позволяет использовать её при оформлении палисадников и для посадок на клумбах.

Воздушный десант

Цветы сорта со столь оригинальным названием очень похожи на колокольчики. Они могут быть традиционно белыми или кремовыми, тычинки – ярко-желтые. Аромат напоминает запах земляники, по этой причине кустарник часто называют земляничным. Высота до двух метров, цветет в начале июля. Агротехнические приемы – те же, что и для других сортов. Особенность в том, что земляничный чубушник хорошо растет в тени. Устойчив к болезням, морозостоек, хорошо растет в средней полосе. Может быть использован в одиночных и групповых посадках, им оформляют клумбы и газоны.

Сорт чубушника "Воздушный десант".

Сорт чубушника «Воздушный десант».

Гордон

Сорт Гордона может похвастаться нежным и легким ароматом. Декоративные качества растения подчеркиваются не только белыми цветами, но и крупными глянцевыми листьями. Кусты высокие, до четырех метров, цветет во второй декаде июня. Требуется регулярное удаление старых ветвей, чубушник больше похож не на куст, а на раскидистое дерево.

Лемуана

Гибрид обыкновенного и мелколистного чубушника. Крона достигает в диаметре трех с половиной метров. Цветы белые, очень сильный аромат. Листья темно-зеленые, крупные, осенью желтеют. Может цвести два раза в год при условии теплой и продолжительной осени. Хорошо переносит полутень, зимостоек. Используется для создания изгородей, оформления участков, отлично смотрится по соседству с другими видами и сортами чубушников.

Гном

Нецветущий сорт. Куст низкорослый, до полуметра, имеет яркие листья, некрупные, зубчатые, крона густая. Сорт очень зимостойкий, переносит все виды почв, почти не требует ухода. Используется для создания небольших бордюров, высаживается на клумбах. Особенность сорта в том, что за счет хорошего ветвления кустарник можно подвергать формирующей обрезке, придавая ему разную форму.

Нецветущий чубушник, сорт "Гном".

Нецветущий чубушник, сорт «Гном».

Алебастр

Цветы – полумахровые, белые, соцветия крупные. Листья овальной формы, зеленые, размер – средний. Ветви раскидистые, прочные, высота растения – до 1,8 м. Требуется ежегодная обрезка. Любит солнечные места, в тени не цветет. Сорт выносливый, хорошо растет в условиях средних широт, не переносит кислые и засоленные почвы. Будет рад подкормке и регулярному поливу. Применяется для одиночных посадок и для изгородей.

Каждый из перечисленных сортов имеет свой неповторимый вид. Аромат и красота кустарника давно покорили сердца профессиональных ландшафтных дизайнеров и обычных садоводов-любителей.

Фото разных сортов чубушника

Чубушник в саду, видео

YouTube Трейлер
Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!