Colorful gaylardiya: reproduction and cultivation

Gaylardiya varieties "Arizona San".

Gaylardiya cultivar “Arizona sun”.

Large, bright "daisies" gailardia delight visitors to the garden throughout the season, any area, planted with these plants, becomes festive and attractive.

The Latin name of the culture comes from the name of a famous patron of science botany, patron of French origin, his name was Gaillard de Bondaroy, he lived in Europe, in the seventeenth century.

In North and South America there are many legends, dedicated to this flower, it is called "the wheel of fire" and "Indian blanket". Indeed, during the flowering prairies and roadsides covered with bright, blazing carpet. Gaylardiya, a symbol of the state of Oklahoma.

As horticultural crops are used, basically, hybrids. The plant may be stunted, to 35 cm tall, to 1 m. The first is very popular in landscape design, so as not to fall apart with age. Tall varieties need to be tied to the support or the landing near the plants, which can quite literally "to lean", to maintain a Bush during heavy rain or wind.

Gaylardiya blooms from early summer until frost days. Blossoms beautiful, single, odorless. Group plantings can beautify flower beds, curbs, flower beds, the Alpine slide, to plant flowers in a pot or container. The plant looks good on the background of shrubs and vase life. Goes well with the usual daisies, asparagus, Daisy, many other perennials. Culture has won the hearts of gardeners for its ruggedness, resistance to drought, gaylardiya tolerates winter. In one place, the plant is able to live and grow for four years, further, the bushes are transplanted or update.

Gaillardia spinous, grade "Canbest Yellow", planted in a large basket.

Gaillardia spinous, the sort of “Sunbest yellow”, planted in a large basket.

The cultivation of culture

The main two ways of reproduction – the division of adult Bush to pieces, and planting seeds. Matured planting material harvested in the first month of autumn, selecting colors the colors. The seedlings may occur splitting, and new plants will succeed in this process, ugly and pale, they will lose the grade. The plant spreads by self-seeding and, the color of flowers may vary from the parent.

Growing from seed

Planted seed in may, deeply buried, it is better to use shallow boxes. Germination should occur through 12 days when the air temperature in 18 – 25 degrees. Boxes cover with foil or glass to create greenhouse conditions, put in a Sunny place. After the appearance of two or three full leaves culture dive.

Grown seedlings are transplanted in open ground in autumn or the next after landing the spring. The distance between plants up to 40 cm. During the period of rooting gailardia well watered, in very hot weather, it needs shading. Look good in the garden group landing three or four copies, blossom culture starting in the second year after planting, with the exception of some varieties.

Seedling Gilardi.

Seedling Gilardi.

Propagation by division

Divide clumps in spring or autumn. Parts should not be too small, such plants will develop very slowly. From a medium-sized Bush, you can get three new, full plants. Some experienced gardeners gaillardia propagated by cuttings.

Soil, drainage, watering, dressing

Plot, where you intend to plant gaillardia, should be well lit. The composition of the soil – easy, good drainage will eliminate congestion. To improve the friability and nutrient in soil impose ashes, coarse sand. Culture doesn't like remoisture, moderate watering is recommended. The regularity of the need during the drought, in the rest period frequent and abundant wetting of the soil does not need gaylardiya. The flowering period can be extended artificially, if the time to remove has outlived its time peduncles.

Feeding culture is produced three times during the season, in soil soil fertilizers. First time making useful substances is carried out during budding, the second stage is the flowering period, third – a month before the frost. The flower stalks are cut off completely, this will help normal wintering. It is not recommended to feed fresh manure.

Care culture is timely cleaning of weeds, loosening the earth near the roots. Flower well winters without shelter, the problem of freezing may occur, if the snow cover is very thin. Such trouble did not happen, gaillardia covered with a layer of peat, foliage, needles.

Years gailardia

Hybrid varieties, range of shades – from brown-red to orange-yellow tones. Baskets Terry or half Terry, diameter – 10 cm. Origin – from spinous crossing gailardia with types, that grow in the wild prairies of the Western part of the United States of America.

Species and varieties

Gaylardiya spinous – growing perennial bushes with a monochromatic or two-color baskets. The stems are straight, flowering period from June to September. Recommended for planting perennial borders and for cutting. After flowering remains on top of achene-ball, prickly or pubescent. These "bumps" the designers added to floral compositions, using as dried flowers.

In the photo: gaylardiya in the garden.

In the photo: gaylardiya in the garden.

Among experienced gardeners are especially popular varieties:

  • "Burgunder" with a wine-red color;
  • "Bremen" – with dark copper;
  • "Tommy" – with orange flowers;
  • "Tokayer" – large, fire buds;
  • "Kobold" – dichroic grade, yellow, with orange tips;
  • "Goblin" is a dwarf cultivar with crimson-and-cream flowers.

New varieties of perennials, bred for rockeries and for planting in pots:

  • "Arizona Sun";
  • "Primavera".

If you plant the seedlings of these varieties in February, the plants will bloom in the first year.

Annual gaylardiya

Gaylardiya beautiful spreading shrub up to half a meter, bloom until early frost. Most popular varieties with spherical inflorescences:

  • "Lollipops" – motley, red and yellow color;
  • "Red plume" – a thin yellow border on a bright terracotta background;
  • "Yellow plume" – yellow blossoms.

The most popular varieties with nemahrovymi flowers:

  • "Dazzler" – Golden blossoms with a red center;
  • "Wirral Flame" – red-orange blossoms with yellow edge flowers;
  • "Tochlayt" – a very large inflorescences of red color with yellow tips;
  • "Kraftway yellow" – pure-yellow blossoms;
  • "Fanfair" yellow – orange blossoms from the edge of funnel-shaped petals;
  • "Summers kiss" – unexpected flowers are pink-apricot shade.
Group planting with gailardia.

Group planting with gailardia.

Diseases and pests

The remoisture soil can cause the infection gaillardia powdery mildew, Botrytis. To deal with these misfortunes, and with numerous pests can and should conventional methods: through the use of various chemical preparations, removal of damaged bushes, partial or fully. Good effect treatment with a solution of manganese.

Photo of different varieties gaillardia

Video about growing gaillardia

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Колоритная гайлардия: размножение и выращивание

Гайлардия сорта "Аризона Сан".

Гайлардия сорта «Аризона Сан».

Крупные, яркие «ромашки» гайлардии радуют посетителей сада на протяжении всего сезона, любой уголок, где высажены эти растения, становится праздничным и привлекательным.

Латинское название культуры произошло от имени известного покровителя науки ботаники, мецената французского происхождения, звали его Гайар де Бондаруа, он жил в Европе, в семнадцатом веке.

В Северной и Южной Америке существует немало легенд, посвященных этому цветку, его называют «огненным колесом» и «индейским одеялом». И действительно, во время цветения прерии и обочины дорог покрыты ярким, полыхающим ковром. Гайлардия – символ штата Оклахома.

В качестве садовых культур используются, в основном, гибриды. Растение может быть низкорослым, до 35 см и высокорослым, до 1 м. Первые очень популярны в ландшафтном дизайне, так как не разваливаются с возрастом. Высокие сорта нуждаются в подвязке к опоре или в высадке рядом с растениями, которые могут в буквальном смысле «подставить плечо», поддержать куст во время сильного дождя или ветра.

Гайлардия цветет с начала теплых летних дней до заморозков. Соцветия красивые, одиночные, без запаха. Групповыми посадками можно украсить клумбы, бордюры, цветники, альпийские горки, высадить цветы в вазон или контейнер. Растение хорошо смотрится на фоне кустарников и в срезке. Отлично сочетается с обычными ромашками, спаржей, нивяником, многими другими многолетниками. Культура завоевала сердца садоводов своей неприхотливостью, засухоустойчивостью, гайлардия хорошо переносит зимы. На одном месте растение способно жить и развиваться в течение четырех лет, далее кусты пересаживают или обновляют.

Гайллардия остистая, сорт "Санбёст Еллоу", высаженная в большую корзину.

Гайллардия остистая, сорт «Санбёст Еллоу», высаженная в большую корзину.

Выращивание культуры

Основных способов размножения два – деление взрослого куста на части и высадка семенами. Вызревший посадочный материал собирают в первый месяц осени, выбирая цветы по расцветке. В сеянцах может произойти расщепление, и новые растения получатся в результате этого процесса некрасивыми и бледными, они потеряют сортность. Растение размножается и самосевом, окрас цветков может сильно отличатся от родительских.

Выращивание из семян

Высаживают семенной материал в мае, глубоко не заделывают, лучше использовать неглубокие ящики. Прорастание должно произойти через 12 дней при температуре воздуха в 18 – 25 градусов. Ящики прикрывают пленкой или стеклом для создания парниковых условий, ставят на солнечное место. После появления двух-трех полноценных листочков культуру пикируют.

Подросшие сеянцы пересаживают в открытый грунт осенью или на следующую после посадки весну. Расстояние между растениями – до 40 см. В период укоренения гайлардию хорошо поливают, в очень жаркую погоду она нуждается в притенении. Хорошо выглядят в саду групповые высадки по три-четыре экземпляра, цвести культура начнет на второй год после высадки, за исключением некоторых сортов.

Рассада гайлардии.

Рассада гайлардии.

Размножение делением

Разделяют кустики в весенний или осенний период. Части не должны быть слишком маленькими, такие растения будут развиваться очень медленно. Из куста средней величины можно получить три новых, полноценных растения. Некоторые опытные садоводы размножают гайлардию черенкованием.

Почва, дренаж, полив, подкормка

Участок, куда предполагается высадить гайлардию, должен быть хорошо освещен. Состав почвы – легкий, хороший дренаж исключит застойные явления. Для повышения рыхлости и питательности в почву вводят золу, крупнозернистый песок. Культура не любит переувлажненность, полив рекомендован умеренный. Регулярность нужна во время засухи, в остальной период в частом и обильном смачивании почвы гайлардия не нуждается. Период цветения можно продлить искусственно, если вовремя удалять отживающие свое время цветоносы.

Подкормку культуры производят трижды в течение сезона, в почвенный грунт вносят минеральные удобрения. Первый раз внесение полезных веществ проводится во время бутонизации, второй этап – период цветения, третий – за месяц до наступления заморозков. Цветоносы срезают полностью, это поможет нормальной зимовке. Растения не рекомендуется подкармливать свежим навозом.

Уход за культурой заключается в своевременной уборке сорняков, рыхлении земли возле корней. Цветок хорошо зимует без укрытия, проблема вымерзания может возникнуть, если снежный покров очень тонкий. Чтобы такая неприятность не случилась, гайлардию накрывают слоем торфа, листвы, хвоей.

Многолетние гайлардии

Гибридные сорта, гамма оттенков – от коричнево-красных до оранжево-желтых тонов. Корзинки махровые или полумахровые, диаметр – до 10 см. Происхождение – от скрещивания остистой гайлардии с видами, которые растут в диких прериях западной части Соединенных Штатов Америки.

Виды и сорта

Гайлардия остистая – растущий кустами многолетник с однотонными или двуцветными корзинками. Стебли – прямые, период цветения – с июня по сентябрь. Рекомендуется для посадки рабаток и для срезки. После окончания цветения на макушке остается семянка-шарик, колючая или опушенная. Такие «шишечки» дизайнеры добавляют во флористические композиции, используя в качестве сухоцветов.

На фото: гайлардия в саду.

На фото: гайлардия в саду.

Среди опытных садоводов особенно популярны сорта:

  • «Бургундер» с винно-красной окраской;
  • «Бремен» — с темно-медной;
  • «Томми» — с оранжевыми цветами;
  • «Токайер» — с крупными, огненными соцветиями;
  • «Коболд» — двуцветный сорт, желтый, с оранжевыми кончиками;
  • «Гоблин» — карликовый сорт с малиново-кремовыми цветками.

Новые сорта многолетников, выведенных для рокариев и для посадки в горшках:

  • «Аризона Сан»;
  • «Примавера».

Если посадить рассаду этих сортов в феврале, то растения зацветут уже в первый год.

Однолетняя гайлардия

Гайлардия красивая – раскидистый куст высотой до полуметра, цветет до начала заморозков. Самые популярные сорта с шаровидными соцветиями:

  • «Лоллипопс» — пестрой, красной и желтой окраски;
  • «Ред Плюм» — тонкая желтая кайма на ярко-терракотовом фоне;
  • «Еллоу Плюм» — желтые соцветия.

Самые популярные сорта с немахровыми соцветиями:

  • «Даззлер» — золотистые соцветия с красной сердцевинкой;
  • «Виррал Флейм» — красно-оранжевые соцветия с желтыми краевыми цветками;
  • «Точлайт» — очень крупные соцветия красного оттенка с желтыми кончиками;
  • «Крофтвэй Еллоу» — чисто-желтые соцветия;
  • «Фанфайр» — желто-оранжевые соцветия с краевыми воронковидными лепестками;
  • «Саммерс Кисс» — неожиданные цветы розово-абрикосового оттенка.
Групповая посадка с гайлардией.

Групповая посадка с гайлардией.

Болезни и вредители

Переувлажненность почвы может спровоцировать заражение гайлардии мучнистой росой, серой гнилью. Бороться с этими напастями, а также с многочисленными вредителями можно и нужно общепринятыми методами: с помощью применения различных химических препаратов, удалением поврежденных кустов, частичным или полностью. Хороший эффект дает обработка раствором марганца.

Фото разных сортов гайлардии

Видео о выращивании гайлардии

Понравилась статья ? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!