Rose in winter: save the Queen

Rose winter cover.

Rose winter cover.

Fans rosaries often complain, in conditions of middle latitudes purchased varietal bushes roses almost impossible to maintain without damage. Often they are simply killed by frost. The herb can be unsuitable for these weather conditions. Greater conformability show released varieties. And sometimes fault and the green thumb, which, making the purchase of luxury Bush, had not thought of, how will he hide the rose in winter the light of the proposed features. The result is sad – the freezing of the plant or, the opposite case, the rot from excess protection, who played the role of fur coats.

The weakest grade

Almost each variety requires compliance with certain conditions for the normal wintering. The first thing to think about, what can be done for a particular type of plant, winter is fast approaching and we must not tarry, it may cost the life of your pet. List of roses-the sissy looks so:

  • fear of frost some varieties climbing and chinogerni roses;
  • miniature and floribunda varieties are more resistant, shelter for them should not be too dense;
  • the tempered type of plant, garden roses, most of them are accustomed to spend the winter in the cold and requires no cover.

What grade grows in your area can be determined with the help of directories, descriptions. If it failed, there must be a shelter from an excess of moisture at least for roots and the creation of microclimate for normal hibernation barrel. The robe will make the changes in winter temperatures less tangible, they often provoke the freezing of the branches.

Garden roses used to minimum care, they do not require special protection in the winter.

Garden roses used to minimum care, they do not require special protection in the winter.

Preparing for winter: the number of required steps

The cessation of feeding

Training Queen of the garden for the winter season starts from late August. The rapid growth of plants suspended, for this you need to stop fertilizing with nitrogen fertilizers and watering. Allowed rare soil application of potassium compounds, they will quickly drevesnye the trunk and branches.

Termination of loosening

With the beginning of the first autumn month to stop any intervention in the soil around the plant, the goal is not to provoke the emergence and growth of young shoots. Dormant buds save from awakening, this is especially important, if September is warm and the average temperature hardly differs from the summer season.

Conducting trimming

This procedure does not need a Park and climbing varieties, the rest of the roses need for data farming operations. Cut the branches at the height of the future shelter, the whole Bush should be hidden. It removed all the greenery, the young shoots and leaves, Morozov, they still will not take. Shortened and woody parts of the Bush.

Picking up trash

You must carefully rake out from under the bushes, dry grass and foliage. Spores of fungal diseases love to live in such places, rarely treated rake gardener.

Processing plants

To increase the stability of the bushes to moisture and strengthening the immune system of roses sprayed with liquid Bordeaux or iron sulphate.

Hilling roses

The root system requires sufficient aeration. To improve the air permeability after the holding of the rose Spud, the ground raise approximately 20 cm. Loose soil keeps the air, playing the role of a barrier against the penetration of low temperatures to the roots of the plants.

The best time to conduct pre-winter preparation

When all these works were carried out, you must wait for the stable cold. Most likely, this will happen in mid-October or later. Signal the beginning of the construction of the shelters is the air temperature 6 degree in a week or ten days. In southern areas this time frame can be adjusted, better to wait.

The plant is better to "hide" for the winter later, than prematurely. The weak shoots are not afraid of the cold, it will only harden the bushes, will contribute to the maturation of branches. But premature cover can cause a lot of trouble: heat and moisture will Wake up the kidneys, in the growth of leaves young shoots, both in the winter is absolutely not necessary. Close roses in dry weather. If before the appointed day was a wet snow and rain – better to wait a couple of days, to the soil under the bushes dried up. Excess moisture in the woods will provoke fungal infections, and the conditions of isolation from the outside world will cause rapid development of disease.

Frame shelter for roses.

Frame shelter for roses.

Types of shelters for roses

Regardless of, what type of shelter will be selected, a prerequisite is a layer of air inside the building. The material and the rose should not come into contact. This approach will protect plants from vyprevaniya with the spring thaw. Dense cover, covering the branches, disrupts the normal circulation of air, the oxygen, the plant can choke.

Air-dry shelter

Designed for floribunda and hybrid tea varieties. This type of protection from the cold keeps a constant temperature to – 4 degrees, it is well ventilated, promotes normal breathing plants. The order of construction:

  • The frame is woven from wire or metal bars, height – 60 cm.
  • The rose Bush is enclosed in a cone.
  • The top of the frame is stretched a heater. It may be glassine, have lutrasil, cardboard. The material is fixed on the support using twine.
  • The resulting "winter house" is covered with a polyethylene, which will not be allowed to plant moisture, precipitation.
  • The lower part of the film to cover the soil.

Instead of the frame of roses, you can cover the containers, which scrolled holes. After the onset of stable cold they hid the film.

Air-dry shelter ready.

Air-dry shelter ready.

Panel cover

Designed for climbing roses. These varieties often remain for the winter with leaves. With the onset of stable cold deciduous cover should be removed together with petioles. Otherwise, they will rot and infect the kidneys. Work order:

  • Tie beam prepared Bush, to put it in the wrong direction, where directed branches. Bending in the other direction can contribute to cracking of the bark.
  • Spread on the soil surface spruce branches to protect from rodents, lay the Bush on top of the litter.
  • Plant prishpilivayut to the ground bent wire in several places.
  • To knock together two boards of wood, their length should be equal to the length of the Bush, width is around one meter.
  • Shields put in a house, to further strengthen hammered into the ground pegs. This needs to be done, as a thick layer of snow on the panels can contribute to slipping.
  • The resulting "house" covered with polyethylene, the ends should be tightly wrapped, at the bottom of the edges of the film covered with soil. If the ground is still frozen – the film can be lifted at the end portion, and then close after the onset of stable cold. The angles of the ends can be open and warm in the winter, ventilation of the shelter will contribute to the normal wintering plants.

Shields tend to protect the roses, the growing ranks of. If the hive is located in the center of the bed, and planted around other perennials, heavy construction could damage them. In this case it is better to make the next shelter:

  • Whip, associated with twine, don't lay on the ground, and fastened to pegs, beaten into the ground. You should get a column.
  • Metal frame made in the form of a pyramid, lay it around the plant. The shelter should be free and not in contact with the branches.
  • On top lay the fiberglass, pull her string and sprinkle the bottom with ground. The material does not let the cold inside and, at the same time, provide better ventilation of the shelter.

If this material is not available – you can pull any non-woven fabric, spend, top layer – polyethylene. It is necessary to leave an air hole for ventilation, to avoid vyprevaniya in warm weather.

Panel cover "house".

Panel shelter “house”.

Jute bags

Cover for standard roses. Plants, planted in tubs or other large containers, can hibernate in cold and dry cellar. But planted in the soil of roses can be protected from winter weather with jute. The procedure works:

  • On the crown is put on the bag, where there is no bottom, he is tied with twine at the beginning of the growth of the crown.
  • Inside shelters to lay spruce branches, or add dry leaves.
  • Bag tie top, the barrel cover with burlap.

Shelter for the winter is the duty of the gardener in front of the beautiful plants, that will be pleasing colors and delicious aromas of the owners and guests of the garden or plot all summer long. Protect your Pets from the winter cold, wish them a restful sleep and a joyous awakening come spring.

Shelter roses with jute bags.

Shelter roses with jute bags.

Photos of different varieties and shelters for roses

Shelter for roses, video

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Роза зимой: спасаем королеву

Роза в зимнем укрытии.

Роза в зимнем укрытии.

Поклонники розариев часто жалуются, что в условиях средних широт купленные сортовые кусты роз почти нельзя сохранить без повреждений. Часто они попросту вымерзают. Сам вид растения может быть неприспособлен для данных погодных условий. Большую приспосабливаемость демонстрируют районированные сорта. А иногда виноват и сам садовод, который, делая покупку роскошного куста, не подумал, как он будет укрывать розу на зиму с учетом предложенных особенностей. Результат печален – подмерзание растения или, противоположный случай, выпревание от избыточной защиты, которая сыграла роль шубы.

Самые слабые сорта

Едва ли не каждый сорт требует соблюдения определенных условий для нормальной зимовки. Первым делом подумайте, что можно сделать для того или иного вида растений, зима приближается и медлить нельзя, это может стоить жизни вашим любимцам. Перечень роз-неженок выглядит так:

  • боятся морозов некоторые разновидности плетистых и чайногибридные розы;
  • миниатюрные сорта и флорибунда более стойки, укрытия для них не должны быть слишком плотными;
  • самый закаленный тип растений – парковые розы, большая часть из них привыкла зимовать на морозе и не требует никаких укрытий.

Какой именно сорт растет на вашем участке – можно определить с помощью каталогов, описаний. Если это не удалось – необходимо предусмотреть укрытие от избытка влаги хотя бы для корней и создание микроклимата для нормальной зимовки ствола. Одеяние сделает перепады зимней температуры менее ощутимыми, именно они чаще всего провоцируют вымерзание веток.

Парковые розы привыкли к минимальному уходу, они не требуют особой защиты в зимнее время года.

Парковые розы привыкли к минимальному уходу, они не требуют особой защиты в зимнее время года.

Подготовка к зиме: ряд обязательных шагов

Прекращение подкармливания

Подготовка королевы сада к зимнему сезону начинается с конца августа. Бурный летний рост растения приостанавливают, для этого необходимо прекратить подкормки азотными удобрениями и поливы. Разрешено редкое внесение в почву калийных составов, они помогут быстрее одревеснеть стволу и веткам.

Прекращение рыхления

С началом первого осеннего месяца нужно прекратить любые вмешательства в почву вокруг растения, цель – не провоцировать появление и рост молодых побегов. Спящие почки уберегают от пробуждения, это особенно важно, если сентябрь теплый и по уровню средних температур почти не отличается от летнего сезона.

Проведение обрезки

Эта процедура не нужна парковым и плетистым сортах, остальные розы нуждаются в проведении данных агротехнических работ. Обрезают ветки на высоте будущего укрытия, весь куст должен быть спрятан. Удаляется вся зелень, молодые побеги и листья, морозов они все равно не перенесут. Укорачиваются и одревесневшие части куста.

Собирание мусора

Необходимо тщательно выгрести из-под кустов сухую траву и листву. Споры грибковых болезней очень любят поселяться в подобных местах, редко обрабатываемых граблями садовода.

Обработка растений

Для повышения устойчивости кустов к влаге и укреплению иммунитета розы опрыскивают бордоской жидкостью или железным купоросом.

Окучивание роз

Корневой системе необходима достаточная аэрация. Для улучшения воздушной проходимости после проведения предыдущих работ розы окучивают, землю поднимают примерно на 20 см. Рыхлая почва хорошо держит воздух, играющий роль барьера от проникновения низких температур к корням растения.

Лучшее время для проведения предзимней подготовки

Когда все перечисленные работы проведены, необходимо дождаться стабильных холодов. Скорее всего, это случится в середине октября или чуть позже. Сигналом к началу возведения укрытий служит температура воздуха – 6 градусов в течение недели или десяти дней. В южных районах эти сроки могут быть скорректированы, лучше подождать.

Растение лучше «спрятать» на зиму позже, чем преждевременно. Побегам не страшен слабый мороз, он лишь закалит кусты, будет способствовать созреванию веток. А вот преждевременное укрытие может спровоцировать немало неприятностей: тепло и влага разбудит почки, в рост тронутся молодые побеги, то и другое на зиму совершенно не нужно. Закрывают розы в сухую погоду. Если перед назначенным днем шел мокрый снег или дожди – лучше подождать пару дней, чтобы почва под кустами высохла. Лишняя влага в укрытии спровоцирует грибковые инфекции, а условия изоляции от внешнего мира вызовут ускоренное развитие болезней.

Каркасное укрытие для роз.

Каркасное укрытие для роз.

Типы укрытий для роз

Вне зависимости от того, какой тип укрытия будет выбран, обязательным условием является воздушная прослойка внутри сооружения. Материал и сама роза не должны соприкасаться. Такой подход убережет растения от выпревания с началом весенних оттепелей. Плотное укрытие, охватывающее ветви, нарушает нормальную циркуляцию воздуха, поступление кислорода, растение может задохнуться.

Воздушно-сухое укрытие

Предназначено для флорибунды и чайно-гибридных сортов. Этот вид защиты от холода держит постоянную температуру до – 4 градусов, оно хорошо вентилируется, способствует нормальному дыханию растения. Порядок возведения:

  • Каркас плетется из проволоки или металлических прутьев, высота – 60 см.
  • Куст розы огораживается в виде конуса.
  • Поверх каркаса натягивается утеплитель. Это может быть пергамин, лутрасил, картон. Материал фиксируется на опоре с помощью шпагата.
  • Полученный «зимний домик» накрывается полиэтиленом, который не пустит к растению влагу, осадки.
  • Нижнюю часть пленки засыпать почвой.

Вместо каркаса розы можно укрыть контейнерами, в которых прокручены дырочки. После наступления стабильных морозов они укрываются пленкой.

Воздушно-сухое укрытие в готовом виде.

Воздушно-сухое укрытие в готовом виде.

Щитовое укрытие

Предназначено для плетистой розы. Эти сорта чаще всего остаются на зиму с листочками. С наступлением стабильного холода лиственный покров необходимо удалить вместе с черешками. В противном случае они загниют и заразят почки. Порядок работы:

  • Связать пучком подготовленный куст, пригнуть его в ту сторону, куда направлены ветки. Загибание в другую сторону может способствовать растрескиванию коры.
  • Расстелить на поверхности почвы лапник для защиты от грызунов, разложить куст поверх подстилки.
  • Растение пришпиливают к грунту согнутой проволокой в нескольких местах.
  • Сбить вместе два щита из дерева, их длина должна быть равна длине куста, ширина – около метра.
  • Щиты поставить в виде домика, дополнительно укрепить забитыми в землю колышками. Это необходимо сделать, так как толстый слой снега на щитах может способствовать их сползанию.
  • Получившийся «домик» накрыт полиэтиленом, торцы должны быть плотно укутаны, внизу края пленки засыпаются грунтом. Если земля еще не промерзла – пленку можно приподнять в торцевой части, а затем закрыть после наступления стабильного холода. Уголки торцов можно приоткрывать и в теплую зиму, проветривание укрытия будет способствовать нормальной зимовке растений.

Щитами обычно защищают розы, растущие рядами. Если же куст расположен в центре клумбы, а вокруг посажены другие многолетники, то тяжелое сооружение может их повредить. В таком случае лучше сделать следующее укрытие:

  • Плети, связанные шпагатом, не кладут на землю, а крепятся к колышкам, забитым в грунт. Должен получиться столбик.
  • Из металла изготавливают каркас в виде пирамидки, располагают его вокруг растения. Укрытие должно быть свободным и не соприкасаться с ветвями.
  • Поверх настелить стеклоткань, стянуть её шпагатом и присыпать снизу почвой. Материал не пустит мороз внутрь и, в то же время, обеспечит лучшее проветривание укрытия.

Если данного материала нет в наличии – можно натянуть любое нетканое полотно, спонд, верхний слой – полиэтиленовый. Необходимо оставить отдушины для вентиляции, чтобы избежать выпревания в теплую погоду.

Щитовое укрытие "домиком".

Щитовое укрытие «домиком».

Джутовые мешки

Укрытие для штамбовых роз. Растения, высаженные в кадки или другие большие емкости, могут зимовать в условиях холодного и сухого подвала. А вот высаженные в почву розы можно защитить от зимней погоды с помощью джута. Порядок работ:

  • На крону надевается мешок, в котором нет дна, он завязывается шпагатом в начале роста кроны.
  • Внутрь укрытия уложить лапник или насыпать сухую листву.
  • Мешок завязать сверху, ствол укрыть мешковиной.

Укрытие на зиму – долг садовода перед прекрасными растениями, которые будут радовать цветами и изысканными ароматами хозяев и гостей сада или участка все лето напролет. Защитите ваших любимцев от зимних холодов, пожелайте им спокойного сна и радостного пробуждения наступившей весной.

Укрытие роз с помощью джутовых мешков.

Укрытие роз с помощью джутовых мешков.

Фото разных сортов и укрытий для роз

Укрытия для розы, видео

YouTube Трейлер
Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!