Bulbous perennials: ideas and varieties

Plant primroses in the garden.

Plant primroses in the garden.

These plants are the first to meet the spring, they Wake up then, when other perennials continue to sleep peacefully. Dull spring landscape will enliven bulbous primroses. Some of them bloom very long.

Flowering period

Any gardener wants, the plants blooming as long as possible. To extend the time limits, if the right to plant culture: some varieties wither quickly, if located on a Sunny plot, the process slows down, if they grow in partial shade. These properties are all known Lily, crocuses, gladiolus, tulips. Some flowers can not see: motley tigridia produces inflorescence, which pleases the eyes only eight hours. Prizemlin, on the contrary, releasing the arrow slowly, the plant blooms for about a month. This deadline, list of popular long blooming onion looks so:

  • three weeks flowering anemone;
  • two or three weeks – Royal grouse;
  • to three weeks the Tulip;
  • daffodil blooms for more than ten days;
  • are considered to be long blooming freesia and some varieties of lilies.
Tigridia.

Tigridia.

Easy care

The second criterion, whose presence guided the cottagers, which is not a lot of free time – complexity of care of plants. Less hassle – easier to grow. Most bulbs require annual digging out after the drying of the aerial part. Otherwise, gone under the snow undisturbed, the bulbs are crushed or freeze. Such varieties include Lily, Terry, parrot tulips, freesia, gladioli and hyacinths. If the time for the autumn work on the excavation, drying and milling to create the conditions for storage no, you will have to make do with undemanding varieties.

In one place for three to four years to grow well:

  • daffodils;
  • Lily;
  • crocuses;
  • decorative bows;
  • crocosmia;
  • Muscari;
  • anemones;
  • Royal grouse.
Freesia.

Freesia.

Onion, requires special conditions

Some new and popular varieties of onion have large and beautiful flowers, located on thin stems. It looks very nice, plants look great in the flower bed in the dry, warm and calm weather. But if you start prolonged rain or blustery the weather may be in trouble. The stalk will fall, unable to withstand rocking or severity of accumulated moisture. This can happen with freesias and daffodils.. Break gladioli, powerful arrow with large flowers becomes a heavy burden for the bulbs. Breaking can occur at the point of beginning of the stem. If there is a concern, that the plant can break, it is better to tie up in advance, at that time, when it will release the stems. A relative of gladiolus atsidantera winds not afraid. A good way of landing a high bulbous near the fence or mesh.

Bulbous flowers in mixborders.

Bulbous flowers in mixborders.

Single landing

Onion on a bed can act as soloists, large buds and growth can serve as a background for other plantings. The highest types of plants: Lily, crocosmia, atsidantera, gladiolus. Lily looks good alone, but the rest of these flowers it is better to plant groups. In the center of the flower beds looks interesting Royal grouse. More like a king he looks at the background conifers or creeping perennials, decorative bows or climbing plants. Grouse can be planted along with the Lily, while it is gaining strength, grouse already Bud.

Decorative bows

Allium beautiful in group plantings. Breeders displayed more 150 varieties of this plant, but in the decoration of flower beds they are used much less frequently, than gladioli or tulips. Onions have a long growing season, bushes – compact, leaves – tubular, the number of flowers up to sixty. Alimov varieties of different flowering periods: early bloom in mid-may, late – at the end of August. Ornamental onions are good in making the edge of the curb, lower layers in a multi-stage beds, they are included in the landing mixborders. Chives can be eaten, its thin tubes appear out of the ground very early, you can get a double benefit – the food and the aesthetic.

Allium - decorative bows.

Allium decorative bows.

Unpretentious novelties

With daffodils and gladioli familiar with all, but less well-known bulbous, such as montbretia, Gemini, known only by a few. Despite the frightening exotic names, the problems with caring for them, most likely, will not.

Gemini

Behind this name hides a miniature gladiolus. Its height does not exceed two feet, before it blooms, it doesn't fall from the wind and not bent. Varieties of Gemini can be grown on balconies and outdoors. Gardening minus the bulbs is necessary every year to dig up and store in the refrigerator.

Montbretsiya

This is also the gladiolus, but from the Country of the Rising sun. It was called the Japanese gladiolus, another name for crocosmia. In reality, montbretia – cultural form crocosmia. Wild form overwinters well even in cold climates, but her cultural sister need annual digging for the winter. Inflorescence – large, color – red, yellow, orange.

Montbretsiya.

Montbretsiya.

The selection of species and varieties of bulbs for the garden should focus on the adaptation of the plant to the climate and the conditions, he will be provided in the country or area. Even the most unpretentious culture may not bloom, if the summer be dry, and the soil is poor.

Photos of different types of bulbs

Video about bulbous plants

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Луковичные многолетники: идеи и сорта

Растения-первоцветы в саду.

Растения-первоцветы в саду.

Эти растения первыми встречают весну, они пробуждаются тогда, когда другие многолетники мирно продолжают спать. Унылый весенний ландшафт оживят луковичные первоцветы. Некоторые из них цветут совсем недолго.

Период цветения

Любой садовод желает, чтобы растения цвели как можно дольше. Удлинить сроки можно, если правильно высадить культуру: некоторые сорта быстро отцветают, если находятся на солнечном участке, процесс замедляется, если они растут в полутени. Такими свойствами обладают всем известные лилии, крокусы, гладиолусы, тюльпаны. Некоторые цветы можно вовсе не увидеть: пестрая тигридия выпускает соцветие, которое радует глаз всего восемь часов. Птицемлечник, напротив, выпускает стрелки медленно, растение цветет около месяца. Это крайние сроки, перечень популярных долгоцветущих луковичных выглядит так:

  • три недели цветет анемона;
  • две-три недели – королевский рябчик;
  • до трех недель – тюльпан;
  • нарцисс цветет более десяти дней;
  • долгоцветущими считаются фрезии и некоторые сорта лилий.
Тигридия.

Тигридия.

Простота ухода

Второй критерий, наличием которого руководствуются дачники, у которых не так много свободного времени – сложность ухода за растениями. Меньше хлопот – легче выращивать. Большинство луковичных требуют ежегодного выкапывания после засыхания надземной части. В противном случае ушедшие под снег непотревоженные луковицы измельчают или вообще вымерзнут. К таким сортам можно отнести лилейные, махровые, попугайные тюльпаны, фрезии, гладиолусы и гиацинты. Если времени на осенние работы по выкапыванию, просушиванию и созданию условий для хранения нет, то придется обойтись нетребовательными сортами.

На одном месте в течение трех-четырех лет могут хорошо расти:

  • нарциссы;
  • лилии;
  • крокусы;
  • декоративные луки;
  • крокосмии;
  • мускари;
  • анемоны;
  • королевские рябчики.
Фрезии.

Фрезии.

Луковичные, требующие особых условий

Некоторые новые и популярные сорта луковичных имеют крупные и красивые цветы, которые располагаются на тонких стеблях. Это выглядит очень красиво, растения замечательно выглядят на клумбе в сухую, теплую и безветренную погоду. Но если начнется затяжной дождь или ветреная погода – могут быть неприятности. Стебель упадет, не выдержав раскачивания или тяжести накопившейся влаги. Это может произойти с фрезиями и с махровыми нарциссами. Ломаются гладиолусы, мощная стрелка с крупными цветами становится тяжким бременем для луковицы. Выламывание может произойти в точке начала стебля. Если есть опасение, что растение может сломаться, его лучше подвязать заранее, в то время, когда оно выпустит цветоносы. Родственница гладиолуса ацидантера ветров не боится. Хороший способ – высадка высоких луковичных возле ограждения или сетки.

Луковичные цветы в миксбордере.

Луковичные цветы в миксбордере.

Одиночные посадки

Луковичные на клумбе могут выступать в роли солистов, крупные соцветия и рост могут послужить фоном для других посадок. Самые высокие виды растений: лилии, крокосмия, ацидантера, гладиолусы. Лилия хорошо выглядит в одиночку, а вот остальные перечисленные цветы лучше высаживать группами. В центре клумб интересно выглядит королевский рябчик. Еще более по-королевски он смотрится на фоне хвойников или стелющихся многолетников, декоративных луков или вьющихся растений. Рябчик можно высадить вместе с лилией, пока она набирает силу, рябчик уже отцветет.

Декоративные луки

Аллиумы красивы в групповых посадках. Селекционерами выведено более 150 сортов этого растения, но в оформлении клумб они используются гораздо реже, чем гладиолусы или тюльпаны. Луки имеют долгий вегетационный период, кустики – компактные, листья – трубчатые, число цветков достигает шестидесяти. Сорта аллиумов отличаются периодами цветения: ранние цветут в середине мая, поздние – в конце августа. Декоративные луки хороши в оформлении края бордюра, нижних ярусов в многоступенчатых клумбах, их включают в посадки миксбордеров. Шнитт-лук можно употреблять в пищу, его тонкие трубочки появляются из земли очень рано, можно получить двойную пользу – пищевую и эстетическую.

Аллиумы - декоративные луки.

Аллиумы — декоративные луки.

Неприхотливые новинки

С нарциссами и гладиолусами знакомы все, а вот менее известные луковичные, такие как монтбреция, гламини известны немногим. Несмотря на пугающие экзотические названия, проблем с уходом за ними, скорее всего, не будет.

Гламини

За этим названием скрывается миниатюрный гладиолус. Его высота не превышает полметра, он рано зацветает, не ложится от ветра и не искривляется. Сорта гламини можно выращивать на балконах и в открытом грунте. Садоводческий минус – луковицы необходимо ежегодно выкапывать и хранить в холодильнике.

Монтбреция

Это тоже гладиолус, но из Страны Восходящего солнца. Его так и называют – японский гладиолус, другое название – крокосмия. В реальности монтбреция – культурная форма крокосмии. Дикорастущая форма хорошо зимует даже в холодном климате, а вот её культурная «сестра» нуждается в ежегодной выкопке на зимний период. Соцветия – крупные, окраска – красная, желтая, оранжевая.

Монтбреция.

Монтбреция.

При выборе видов и сортов луковичных для сада необходимо ориентироваться на приспособленность растения к данному климату и тем условиям, которые ему будут обеспечены на даче или участке. Даже самые неприхотливые культуры могут не зацвести, если лето будет засушливым, а почва – бедной.

Фото разных видов луковичных

Видео о луковичных растениях

YouTube Трейлер
Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!