Foxglove – plant-honey

Foxglove in the garden.

Foxglove in the garden.

In the sun and on the shaded courtyard, among the trees and in the center of the bed looks great and feels Foxglove with large openwork bells. Proper planting and care allow you to grow flowers as tall as a human, with bright, air caps, natural decor and a real decoration for any garden or suburban area. The name speaks for itself – it comes from "thimble", Latin – digitalis (digitus – "finger").

The genus includes more than thirty types, they grow in a large area from Europe to Western Asia, and from North Africa to the Canary Islands.

Digitalis poisonous, they should not be planted there, where small children play.

Features of plants, care

Digitalis frost- and drought-resistant, in addition to "southern" species. Grows well in Sunny areas, but tolerates partial shade. Prefers fertile, loose, permeable soil, in a stagnant place may not bloom.

Plant care is weeding and loosening soil, watering during drought. For the season the Foxglove can be one or two times to feed the complex mineral fertilizers. In autumn conduct soil mulching with sawdust.

At the end of the summer need to follow the state of the root system – it can strip. With the arrival of the first cold sprinkle it with soil. "Wild" planting digitalis easily propagated by self-seeding.

Types of Foxglove

Digitalis purpurea

The most famous variety available. Settled in Eurasia, the flower grows well and develops in the middle lane. The plant is herbaceous, biennial: in the first year forms a rosette of basal leaves, on the second year shoots. The foliage is velvety, top – dark green, hairy, the lower part – grayish. The flowers are large, collected in the brush, main color – purple, spots inside the Corolla – dark red with white border. The fruit is a capsule with small seeds, blooms in June and July, the seeds ripen in August.

Digitalis purpurea in the garden.

Digitalis purpurea in the garden.

There are a few other names digitalis purpurea, even more artistic: English – "the glove forest fairies" or a "witch's glove", "Fox glove", other – "bloody fingers", "forest bell", "romatnic". The plant is widely used for medical purposes, drugs effective in all degrees of heart failure, tachycardia, atrial fibrillation.

Popular varieties:

  • "Glittering Price" – rendezvouses plant, flowers – large, spots – hot pink, lilac, cream, white, height – to 1,5 m;
  • "Primrose Carosel" – low grade, flowers – pale yellow, spots – Burgundy;
  • group "Gloxinias de Shirley" – plants like gloxinia, reach 2,5 m in height, the flowers are large, horizontally, pink;
  • "Sandi Mountain" – priamosmaritime variety with pale pink flowers, the flower stalks reach five feet tall;
  • "PAMs Choyz" – flowers white-cream, spots – maroon, height – 1,5 m;
  • group Excelsior – hybrid plants, petals bright pink or reddish;
  • hybrids Camelot bloom in the first year after planting, colour of petals cream, pale lilac, pale pink;
  • "Foxy" – low annual, blooms in the first year, if planted seedlings, flowers – white to pink with a contrasting "necks".

Digitalis grandiflora

The species has pubescent flowers with a pale yellow color, inside brown spots. Up to 120 cm, perennial, gives the flower stalks in the second year, sometimes behaves, as a biennial plant.

Small-flowered Foxglove

Biennial plant, in the wild it grows in Spain and Portugal. Flowers – funnel-shaped, chocolate.

Foxglove yellow

The plant looks like a large-flowered varieties, but a bit smaller bushes do not exceed one meter. Perennial, tolerates frost, great for garden, located in the Northern latitudes.

Foxglove yellow.

Foxglove yellow.

Foxglove rusty

Interesting shape of the flower makes this kind of like an Orchid. In the wild growing in Turkey and in the South of Europe. "Rusty" color, from yellow to light brown, good decoration tiered flowerbeds, to create artificial "thickets" on the site.

Digitalis clubnicolesavage

Hybrid, flowers resemble strawberry, height – to 75 cm. Popular variety "summer king".

Foxglove "Saltbush summer"

Orchid plant, flowers – white, spot, spots – red, height – to 1,5 m.

Foxglove summer Saltbushes.

Foxglove summer Saltbushes.

Soil preparation for planting

The top layer for planting dug to a depth of 30 cm. To make the soil manure or compost based: 4 kg per square meter. You can add one or two cups of wood ash, nitrophosphate. The top layer is spread with a rake, fertilizers should be at a depth of 10 cm, the soil is compacted. Sowing the seeds produced in may, seedlings are prepared in early spring, in March.

The types of reproduction

The seed method

Seeds are harvested in the autumn, when fully ripe. Best choice – boxes with the largest stems, located in the lower parts of the plant. It is important to choose the moment, when the fruit is ripe, was painted a brown shade, but not yet burst. Harvested planting material gently sprinkle in the shadows, on a sheet of paper, remove debris.

Seeds are sown in the spring. Experienced gardeners recommend pre-soaking in a little water. Another solution – coating landings film. The soil should be easy, holes and grooves to dig is not required, enough to cover the seed with peat or soil. Thinned seedlings, planted Foxglove should feel free, distance between plants – two feet.

Seeds digitalis.

Seeds digitalis.

Reproduction outlets

The seeds are left on the most developed and large stalks, brush with other instances of cut and waiting about three weeks. During this time near the base grows a few small basal rosettes, they form seven or eight leaves. At this point the socket with the leaves separated from the main plant and planted in the soil at the site. When watering, care should be taken, in the middle is not exposed to water, and it is not clogged with soil. To survive the winter young plants will help the shelter out of twigs or fallen leaves.

Digitalis and landscaping

Decorative plants allows to widely use it in mixed borders, for planting under trees, to decorate the walls. Digitalis is a good background for flower beds. Perfect partners – Kalina, mock orange, rhododendron, rose, honeysuckle, other trees and shrubs. In the shadow digitalis neighbours and gets on with hosts, geraniums, high primroses, akvilegiya. In partial shade – Valerian, decorative bow, peonies, astrantia.

Digitalis and landscaping.

Digitalis and landscaping.

Digitalis can be used, as a pot culture for distillation. To do this in late August or early September the plant is transferred to a cold room with a temperature +12. In such conditions it begins to bloom in April.

Flowers of digitalis in a good vase life, they are long standing in the water, being a wonderful material for bouquets. Large stalks are good in high ceramic or glass vases.

Diseases and pests

Naparstek may appear spotting, control measures – use of copper-containing fungicidal drugs. Incurable root rot, in this case, the plant is removed. Digitalis affected by this and downy mildew, several species of moths and aphids, viruses and nematodes. For treatment using drugs, sold in specialty stores.

Photo of different varieties of digitalis, examples of garden design

Video about growing Foxglove

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Наперстянка – растение-медонос

Наперстянки в саду.

Наперстянки в саду.

На солнцепеке и на затененном дворе, среди деревьев и в центре клумбы прекрасно выглядит и чувствует себя наперстянка с крупными ажурными колокольчиками. Правильная посадка и уход позволяют вырастить цветы в рост человека, с яркими, воздушными шапками, естественный декор и настоящее украшение любого сада или загородного участка. Название говорит само за себя – оно произошло от «наперстка», латинское – дигиталис (дигитус – «палец»).

Род насчитывает больше тридцати видов, произрастают они на большой территории от Европы до Западной Азии, и от Северной Африки до Канарских островов.

Наперстянки ядовиты, их не следует высаживать там, где играют маленькие дети.

Особенности растения, уход

Дигиталис морозо- и засухоустойчив, кроме «южных» видов. Хорошо развивается на солнечных участках, но переносит и полутень. Предпочитает плодородные, рыхлые, водопроницаемые почвы, в застойном месте может не зацвести.

Уход за растением заключается в прополке и рыхлении грунта, в поливе в период засухи. За сезон наперстянку можно один или два раза подкормить комплексными минеральными удобрениями. Осенью проводят мульчирование почвы опилками.

В конце лета нужно проследить за состоянием корневой системы – она может обнажиться. С приходом первых холодов её присыпают грунтом. «Дикие» посадки наперстянки хорошо размножаются самосевом.

Виды наперстянки

Наперстянка пурпурная

Самый знаменитый сорт из имеющихся. Родиной принято считать Евразию, цветок хорошо растет и развивается в средней полосе. Растение травянистое, двулетнее: в первый год образует розетку прикорневых листьев, на второй год – побеги. Листва бархатистая, верхняя часть – темно-зеленая, волосистая, нижняя часть – сероватая. Цветы крупные, собраны в кисть, основной цвет – пурпурный, пятна внутри венчика – темно-красные с белой каймой. Плод – коробочка с мелкими семенами, цветет в июне и июле, семена зреют в августе.

Наперстянка пурпурная в саду.

Наперстянка пурпурная в саду.

Существует еще несколько имен наперстянки пурпурной, еще более художественных: английское – «перчатка лесных фей» или «ведьмина перчатка», «лисья перчатка», другие – «кровавые пальчики», «лесной бубенчик», «рюмочник». Растение широко применяется в медицинских целях, препараты эффективны при всех степенях сердечной недостаточности, тахикардии, мерцательной аритмии.

Популярные сорта:

  • «Глиттерин Прайс» – раннецветущее растение, цветы – крупные, крапинки – ярко-розовые, сиреневые, кремовые, белые, высота – до 1,5 м;
  • «Праймроуз Кариосел» – невысокий сорт, цветы – нежно-желтые, пятна – бордовые;
  • группа «Глоксиниодес де Ширли» – растения похожи на глоксинию, достигают 2,5 м в высоту, цветы крупные, расположены горизонтально, розовые;
  • «Санди Моунтейн» – сорт с прямосмотрящими нежно-розовыми цветками, цветоносы достигают полутора метров высоту;
  • «Памс Чойз» – цветы бело-кремовые, пятна – темно-бордовые, высота – 1,5 м;
  • группа «Эксельсиор» – гибридные растения, лепестки – ярко-розовые или красноватые;
  • гибриды «Камелот» цветут в первый же год после посадки, цвет лепестков – кремовый, нежно-лиловый, нежно-розовый;
  • «Фокси» – невысокий однолетник, цветет в первый год, если посажен рассадой, цветы – от белого до розового с контрастными «горлышками».

Наперстянка крупноцветковая

Вид отличается опушенными цветами с бледно-желтой окраской, внутри – коричневые пятна. Рост – до 120 см, многолетник, дает цветоносы на второй год, иногда ведет себя, как двулетнее растение.

Наперстянка мелкоцветковая

Двулетнее растение, в дикой природе растет в Испании и соседней Португалии. Цветки – воронкообразные, шоколадные.

Наперстянка желтая

Растение похоже на крупноцветковые сорта, но немного ниже – кусты не превышают одного метра. Многолетник, хорошо переносит морозы, отличный вариант для сада, расположенного в северных широтах.

Наперстянка желтая.

Наперстянка желтая.

Наперстянка ржавая

Интересная форма цветка делает этот вид похожим на орхидею. В дикой природе растет в Турции и на юге Европы. «Ржавые» цвета, от желтого до светло-коричневого, хороши в украшении многоярусных цветников, для создания искусственных «зарослей» на участке.

Наперстянка клубникоцветковая

Гибрид, цветы напоминают клубнику, высота – до 75 см. Популярен сорт «Саммер Кинг».

Наперстянка «Солтвудское лето»

Орхидейное растение, цветы – белые, пятна, крапинки – красные, высота – до 1,5 м.

Наперстянка Солтвудское лето.

Наперстянка Солтвудское лето.

Подготовка почвы под посадку

Верхний слой под посадку перекапывают на глубину 30 см. В грунт вносят навоз или компост из расчета: 4 кг на квадратный метр. Можно добавить один или два стакана древесной золы, нитрофоску. Верхний слой разравнивают граблями, удобрения должны оказаться на глубине в 10 см, грунт утрамбовать. Посев семян производят в мае, рассаду готовят ранней весной, в марте.

Виды размножения

Семенной способ

Семена собирают в осенний период, при полном созревании. Лучший выбор – коробочки с самых крупных цветоносов, находящиеся в нижней части растения. Важно выбрать момент, когда плод уже созрел, окрасился в бурый оттенок, но еще не лопнул. Собранный посадочный материал аккуратно рассыпать в тени, на листе бумаги, удалить мусор.

Семена высевают весной. Опытные садоводы рекомендуют предварительное замачивание в небольшом количестве воды. Еще одно решение – покрытие посадок пленкой. Почва должна быть легкой, лунки и бороздки копать не требуется, достаточно присыпать посевной материал торфом или землей. Всходы прореживают, высаженная наперстянка должна чувствовать себя свободно, расстояние между растениями – полметра.

Семена наперстянки.

Семена наперстянки.

Размножение розетками

На семена оставляют наиболее развитые и крупные цветоносы, кисти с других экземпляров обрезают и ждут около трех недель. За это время возле основания прорастает несколько небольших прикорневых розеток, они образуют по семь или восемь листочков. В этот момент розетку с листвой отделяют от основного растения и высаживают в грунт на участке. При поливе необходимо следить за тем, чтобы в середину не попала вода, и она не засорилась почвой. Пережить зиму молодым растениям поможет укрытие из веток или опавших листьев.

Наперстянка и ландшафтный дизайн

Декоративность растения позволяет широко использовать его в группах и миксбордерах, для посадок под деревьями, для декорирования стен. Дигиталис – хороший задний план для цветников. Идеальные партнеры – калина, чубушник, рододендрон, роза, жимолость, другие деревья и кустарники. В тени наперстянка удачно соседствует и уживается с хостами, геранями, высокими примулами, аквилегиями. В полутени – с валерианой, декоративным луком, пионами, астранциями.

Наперстянка и ландшафтный дизайн.

Наперстянка и ландшафтный дизайн.

Наперстянку можно использовать, как горшечную культуру для выгонки. Для этого в конце августа или в начале сентября растение переносят в холодное помещение с температурой +12. В таких условиях оно начинает цвести в апреле.

Цветы дигиталиса хороши в срезке, они долго стоят в воде, являясь замечательным материалом для букетов. Крупные цветоносы хороши в высоких керамических или стеклянных вазах.

Болезни и вредители

У наперстянок может появиться пятнистость листьев, меры борьбы – применение фунгицидных медьсодержащих препаратов. Неизлечима корневая гниль, в этом случае растение удаляют. Дигиталис поражается настоящей и ложной мучнистой росой, несколькими видами моли и тли, вирусами и нематодами. Для лечения используются препараты, продающиеся в специализированных магазинах.

Фото разных сортов наперстянки, примеры садового дизайна

Видео о выращивании наперстянки

Понравилась статья ? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!