Lilac daisies catananche

In the photo: lilac daisies catananche in the garden.

In the photo: lilac daisies catananche in the garden.

A plant with an exotic name miraculously combines winter hardiness with natural appearance, which is a typical for annuals. Gentle, air plant constantly produces flowers with a romantic, delicate purple color.

Catananche is a great culture in the vase life and in decorating compositions. Growing cute "daisies" will not give the grower much hassle, only need to provide frequent watering in hot weather.

The culture won't be considered popular, but it has already received the popular name of "Mediterranean cornflowers". Flowering perennial delights the eye all summer.

Description, features

In the genus catananche five types of plants. As ornamental crops grown catananche blue. Herbaceous perennial capable of withstanding even harsh winters, but it is short-lived, after three or four years after planting loses its decorative qualities and requires frequent division of the Bush. The height of the flower – to 60 cm, first, it's a little kurtinka, which is gaining power, growing. Linear, narrow foliage similar to cereals.

Blossoms bloom on the ends of the thin, but strong stems. At the same time flowers like cornflowers, chamomile and chicory, diameter – 4 cm. After flowering tie boxes, containing hundreds of seeds. Flowering time – all summer, from may to August, some species grow until the first frost. Shades from blue and purple to white and mauve.

The box with the seeds catananche.

The box with the seeds catananche.

Use catananche in the garden landscape

Plant – long blooming accent basics, it looks good:

Plants-partners – perennials and annuals with purple, white, yellow color, with beautiful leaves. Catananche goes well:

  • sage,
  • Daisy,
  • bells,
  • blue fescue,
  • shrub roses,
  • the Stachys Byzantine.
In the photo: catananche in the landscape.

In the photo: catananche in the landscape.

Conditions, planting and transplanting

Transplanting in the open ground is carried out at the end of may or the beginning of the first summer month. Delenki culture can be planted in may. The distance from other plants, from 30 cm. When planting it is important to save earth com, to protect the roots from damage. Transplant catananche not afraid, but caution can help new bushes faster to settle down in a new place. Watering is provided prior to the resumption of growth and flowering.

The plant is not demanding to care, the higher the ambient temperature the more often you need to water catananche. Excessive moisture is also not useful, may decrease growth and flowering of culture. Fertilizing is not needed, lilac Daisy tolerates poor soils.

Wintering catananche

Despite a sufficient frost resistance, the plant needs shelter in winter. Snowless winters and sharp temperature changes can be fatal. The objective of the shelter – stabilization typical for the middle band of weather phenomena.

The types of reproduction

Culture is well propagated by self-seeding. Natural growth can be used as a seedling.

Seeds

The perfect way – seed. It allows to obtain strong seedlings, these bushes will not lose appeal three or four years. Seeds can be sown into the soil immediately, better to do it in early summer, on a special plot, and then transfer to a permanent place of growth. Catananche will bloom the following summer. Sowing seedlings carried out in late March, you will need a loose substrate. Just scatter seeds on surface and sprinkle a very thin layer of sifted soil. After planting planting sprayed from a spray. After the appearance of the second pair of leaves catananche transferred to individual pots. In the open ground plants are planted after, as the threat of frost passes.

The division of the Bush

Divide clumps in late may. The procedure is done with a sharp knife, the landing is made together with the clod of earth.

Pests and diseases

The plant is resistant to diseases and pests, only sloppy care can affect the normal development and contribute to loss of decorative properties.

Photo of different varieties catananche

Video about catananche in the garden

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Сиреневые ромашки катананхе

На фото: сиреневые ромашки катананхе в саду.

На фото: сиреневые ромашки катананхе в саду.

Растение с экзотическим названием удивительным образом сочетает в себе природную зимостойкость с внешним видом, который типичен для однолетников. Нежное, воздушное растение неустанно выпускает цветы с романтично-нежным сиреневым окрасом.

Катананхе – отличная культура в срезке и в украшении композиций. Выращивание милых «ромашек» не доставит садоводу особых хлопот, нужно всего лишь обеспечить частые поливы в  жаркую погоду.

Культуру не причислишь к популярным, но она уже получила народное название «средиземноморские васильки». Красивоцветущий многолетник радует глаз все лето.

Описание, особенности

В роду катананхе пять видов растений. В качестве декоративной культуры выращивают катананхе голубой. Травянистый многолетник способен переносить даже суровые зимы, но при этом недолговечен, через три-четыре года после посадки теряет декоративные качества и нуждается в частом делении куста. Высота цветка – до 60 см, сначала это маленькая куртинка, которая набирает мощь, разрастается. Линейная, узкая листва похожа на злаковые культуры.

Соцветия распускаются на концах тонких, но прочных цветоносов. Цветки одновременно похожи на васильки, ромашки и цикорий, диаметр – 4 см. После окончания цветения завязываются коробочки, содержащие сотни семян. Период цветения – все лето, с мая по август, некоторые сорта – до первых морозов. Оттенки – от голубых и фиолетовых до белых и розовато-лиловых.

Коробочка с семенами катананхе.

Коробочка с семенами катананхе.

Использование катананхе в садовом ландшафте

Растение – акцент долгоцветущей основы, оно хорошо выглядит:

Растения-партнеры – многолетники и однолетники с лиловым, белым, желтым окрасом, с красивыми листьями. Катананхе хорошо сочетается:

  • с шалфеем,
  • нивяником,
  • колокольчиками,
  • сизой овсяницей,
  • кустовыми розами,
  • чистецом византийским.
На фото: катананхе в ландшафте.

На фото: катананхе в ландшафте.

Условия, посадка и пересадка

Высадку рассады в открытый грунт проводят в конце мая или начале первого летнего месяца. Деленки культуры можно высадить в мае. Расстояния до других растений – от 30 см. При посадке важно сохранить земляной ком, уберечь корни от повреждений. Пересадки катананхе не боится, но осторожность поможет новым кустам быстрее прижиться на новом месте. Обеспечивается полив до возобновления роста и цветения.

Растение не требовательно к уходу, чем выше температура окружающей среды – тем чаще катананхе нужно поливать. Излишняя сырость также не полезна, может снизиться рост и цветение культуры. Подкормки не нужны, сиреневая ромашка хорошо переносит бедные почвы.

Зимовка катананхе

Несмотря на достаточную морозостойкость, растение нуждается в укрытии в зимний период. Бесснежные зимы и резкие температурные перепады могут быть губительны. Задача укрытия – стабилизация типичных для средней полосы погодных явлений.

Виды размножения

Культура хорошо размножается самосевом. Стихийную поросль можно использовать в качестве рассады.

Семена

Идеальный способ – семенной. Он позволяет получить крепкую рассаду, такие кустики не потеряют привлекательность три-четыре года. Семена можно сеять в почву сразу, лучше это сделать в начале лета, на специальной делянке, а потом перенести на постоянное место произрастания. Зацветет катананхе на следующее лето. Посев на рассаду проводят в конце марта, понадобится рыхлый субстрат. Семена просто рассыпают по его поверхности и присыпают очень тонким слоем просеянной почвы. После посева посадку сбрызгивают из пульверизатора. После появления второй пары листьев катананхе переносят в индивидуальные горшочки. В открытый грунт растения высаживают после того, как минует угроза заморозков.

Деление куста

Разделяют кустики в конце мая. Процедура проделывается с помощью острого ножа, высадка производится вместе с комом земли.

Вредители и болезни

Растение устойчиво к болезням и вредителям, лишь небрежный уход может сказаться на нормальном развитии и способствовать потере декоративных свойств.

Фото разных сортов катананхе

Видео о катанананхе в саду

YouTube Трейлер
Понравилась статья? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!