Evening primrose – evening primrose: planting and care

Primrose and landscape design.

Primrose and landscape design.

Shining lanterns in evening primrose its true beauty reveal then, when there is no sun. This feature is reflected in the folk names of plants: "night primrose" or "evening candle".

Among of evening primrose meet and annuals, but perennial species deserve special love gardeners, you take care of this culture just, how much aesthetic pleasure it will bring visitors to the area!

Culture

Evening primrose unite under one name similar in appearance, but very different in nature plants among perennials, annuals and biennials. Culture prone to rapid capture of neighboring territories, dense bushes-cushion to quickly expand. Leaves pinnate, oval or lanceolate, bright, create a neutral background for the large and fragrant flowers, blooming all summer.

The plant opens its calyx shortly before dusk, doing it with a click, with the wave of a magic wand. This feature allows you to recommend the plant to create a meditative garden, where can you turn away from the daily hustle and bustle and enjoy the peace and quiet. Showy plant will be a good way to end the day and early evening relaxation. The most famous ultimatum varieties, although the color palette of evening primrose is not limited, including white, pink and purple colors.

Best types of perennial evening primrose

Each type has its own characteristics flowering. The most famous and suitable for cultivation in the Central and beautiful evening primrose Missouri, stemless and shrub.

Evening primrose Missouri.

Evening primrose Missouri.

Evening primrose shrubby

Reliable and winter-hardy culture with a height of one meter. Oval leaves form a dense crown, flowers – yellow, bright, fragrant, large.

Evening primrose beautiful

Very impressive, but it quickly degenerates. Leaves oblong – , shoots – flexible, inflorescences white-pink. In winter, the plant is dug or grown in containers.

Evening primrose Missouri

Flowers reach 10 cm in diameter, Golden color, shoots are raised from the ground.

Evening primrose stemless

Graceful representative with rosettes of lanceolate leaves and bright yellow flowers with a diameter up to 7 cm. Nature plants reminds the host.

Primrose and landscape design

The plant is used:

  • in Tsvetnikov plantings with shading;
  • to create bright spots in an infinity group or on the lawn;
  • for design borders, rockeries and rock gardens;
  • in the texture patches and in the foreground various landings;
  • in order to fill gaps and bald spots;
  • to design flower bed, located in the leisure area, the terrace;
  • in the long borders and flower beds along the buildings;
  • in front gardens.

Plant-partners: Lobelia, bells, astilba, Veronica, ageratum.

Planting evening primrose along the wall.

Planting evening primrose along the wall.

Growing conditions

Strict requirements for lighting mode do not show evening primrose, they grow and develop well in the bright sun and in partial shade, but strong shading with plantings all the same to avoid. In partial shade the plant can reveal the halos and day, but in the absence of sunlight, they will not be revealed to the evening.

The soil should be light and well drained. Preferred neutral, fresh and nourishing soil.

Planting evening primrose

For abundant flowering and successful development of culture you need to spend time on improving your topsoil. Per square meter to be paid for three kilograms of compost or compost and a complete fertilizer. The soil dug up, the day before planting produced abundant watering. Evening primrose in the mountains planted in individual holes, after planting, the plants watered and pritenyayut, if the sun shines too brightly.

Watering and fertilizing

Perennial tolerates drought, deep watering produces one to two times over the summer, enough for one and a half=two buckets of water per square meter. Feeding support minimum nutritional level of the soil, it is carried out during flowering, making potassium sulfate and superphosphate, Norma – a tablespoon per square metre. Mineral fertilizers are easily replaced wood ashes.

Pruning, weeding, loosening

The stems wither not affect the duration of flowering, but if the plant is in the foreground plantings, the aging part it is better to remove. Full pruning is carried out in the autumn: all parts of evening primrose are removed to ground level. Is weeding and mulching the young plants, who themselves can not deal with the weeds. Useful easy soil loosening and tying of shoots to preserve the compactness.

Evening primrose in the front garden.

Evening primrose in the front garden.

Wintering, transplant

Evening primrose is a hardy plant, in too dense cover does not need. After removal of the aerial part is mulching, as protective materials good peat or compost. In the first year the young plants are covered with dry leaves or pine spruce branches.

The proliferation of EPO leads to an equally rapid degeneration. If there are signs of deterioration of flowering – bushes separated and transferred to a new place, the optimum time – every three to four years.

Reproduction of evening primrose

Culture is well propagated by seeds and vegetatively. The young shoots can be used as independent plants. Large bushes divided in the spring, in may, or fall, in September. Seed sown in the soil in may, and in the greenhouse in April. Depth of seal – from 5 to 10 cm, it is necessary to maintain constant soil moisture. In may the plants are transplanted into garden soil, the interval between the bushes, from 50 to 70 cm.

Pests and diseases

Evening primrose can be damaged by fungal diseases and aphids. Affected by fungus, the leaves are removed, further, the plant is able to cope with their problems on their own, spraying is carried out very rarely. But with aphids wrestling is better not to delay, for this purpose, you will need insecticides.

Photo different types of evening primrose

Video about growing evening primrose

Liked the article? Share the bookmark with friends, social. networks:

Энотера – ночная примула: посадка и уход

Энотера и ландшафтный дизайн.

Энотера и ландшафтный дизайн.

Сияющие фонарики энотеры свою истинную красоту раскрывают тогда, когда нет солнца. Эта особенность отразилась в народных названиях растения: «ночная примула» или «вечерняя свеча».

Среди энотер встречаются и однолетники, но многолетние виды заслужили особую любовь садоводов, ведь ухаживать за этой культурой просто, а сколько эстетического наслаждения она принесет посетителям участка!

Особенности культуры

Энотеры объединяют под одним названием похожие внешне, но очень разные по сути растения из числа многолетников, летников и двулетников. Культура склонна к быстрому захвату соседних территорий, плотные кустики-подушки быстро разрастаются. Листья – перистые, овальные или ланцетные, яркие, создают нейтральный фон для крупных и ароматных цветов, распускающихся все лето.

Растение раскрывает свои чашечки незадолго до начала сумерек, делает это со щелчком, как по мановению волшебной палочки. Эта особенность позволяет рекомендовать растение для создания медитативного сада, где можно отрешиться от дневной суеты и насладиться покоем и тишиной. Эффектное растение станет хорошим завершением дня и началом вечернего отдыха. Наиболее известны желтоцветущие сорта, хотя цветовая палитра энотеры этим не ограничивается, включая белые, розовые и пурпурные оттенки.

Лучшие виды многолетних энотер

У каждого вида есть свои особенности цветения. Наиболее известны и пригодны для выращивания в условиях средней полосы энотера красивая и миссурийская, бесстебельная и кустарниковая.

Энотера миссурийская.

Энотера миссурийская.

Энотера кустарниковая

Надежная и зимостойкая культура высотой до одного метра. Овальные листья формируют густую крону, цветы – желтые, яркие, ароматные, крупные.

Энотера красивая

Очень эффектна, но быстро вырождается. Листья – продолговатые, побеги – гибкие, соцветия – бело-розовые. На зиму растение выкапывают или выращивают в контейнерах.

Энотера миссурийская

Цветы достигают 10 см в диаметре, золотистого цвета, побеги приподняты над землей.

Энотера бесстебельная

Изящный представитель с розетками ланцетных листьев и светло-желтыми цветками диаметром до 7 см. Характер растения напоминает хосту.

Энотера и ландшафтный дизайн

Растение используется:

  • в цветниковых посадках с притенением;
  • для создания ярких пятен в пейзажной группе или на газоне;
  • для оформления бордюров, рокариев и альпинариев;
  • в текстурных пятнах и на переднем плане различных посадок;
  • для заполнения пустот и плешин;
  • для оформления цветника, расположенного в зоне отдыха, у террасы;
  • в длинных бордюрах и клумбах вдоль построек;
  • в палисадниках.

Растения-партнеры: лобелия, колокольчики, астильба, вероника, агератум.

Посадки энотеры вдоль стены.

Посадки энотеры вдоль стены.

Условия выращивания

Строгих требований к режиму освещения энотеры не предъявляют, они хорошо растут и развиваются на ярком солнце и в полутени, но сильного затенения при посадках все же следует избегать. В полутени растение может раскрыть венчики и днем, а вот при полном отсутствии солнечного цвета они не раскроются и к вечеру.

Почва должна быть легкой и хорошо дренированной. Предпочтителен нейтральный, свежий и питательный грунт.

Посадка энотеры

Для обильного цветения и успешного развития культуры нужно потратить время на улучшение верхнего почвенного слоя. На квадратный метр вносится по три килограмма компоста или перегноя и полное минеральное удобрение. Грунт перекапывают, за сутки до посадки производят обильный полив. Энотера в массиве высаживается в индивидуальные лунки, после посадки растения поливают и притеняют, если солнце светит слишком ярко.

Полив и подкормка

Многолетник хорошо переносит засуху, глубокий полив производят один-два раза за лето, достаточно по полтора=два ведра воды на квадратный метр. Подкормка поддерживают минимальный питательный уровень грунта, её проводят во время цветения, внося сульфат калия и суперфосфата, норма – по столовой ложке на квадратный метр. Минеральные удобрения легко заменяются древесной золой.

Обрезка, прополка, рыхление

Отцветающие стебли не влияют на продолжительность цветения, но если растение расположено на переднем плане посадок, то увядающие части все же лучше удалить. Полная обрезка проводится осенью: все части энотеры удаляют до уровня почвы. Проводится прополка и мульчирование в отношении молодых растений, которые сами еще не могут бороться с сорняками. Полезно легкое рыхление почвы и подвязка побегов для сохранения компактности.

Энотера в палисаднике.

Энотера в палисаднике.

Зимовка, пересадка

Энотера – растение морозоустойчивое, в слишком плотном укрытии не нуждается. После удаления надземной части проводится мульчирование, в качестве защитных материалов годится торф или компост. В первый год молодые растения укрывают сухим листом или хвойным лапником.

Быстрое разрастание энотеры ведет к не менее быстрому вырождению. Если появились признаки ухудшения цветения – кусты разделяют и переносят на новое место, оптимальные сроки – раз в три-четыре года.

Размножение энотеры

Культура хорошо размножается семенами и вегетативно. Молодую поросль можно использовать как самостоятельные растения. Крупные кусты разделяют весной, в мае, или осенью, в сентябре. Семенной материал высевают в почву в мае, а в парник – в апреле. Глубина заделки – от 5 до 10 см, необходимо поддерживать постоянную влажность грунта. В мае растения пересаживают в садовую землю, интервал между кустиками – от 50 до 70 см.

Вредители и болезни

Энотера может повреждаться грибковыми заболеваниями и тлей. Пораженные грибками листья удаляют, далее растение способно справиться со своими проблемами самостоятельно, опрыскивание проводят очень редко. А вот с тлей борьбу лучше не затягивать, для этой цели понадобятся инсектициды.

Фото разных видов энотеры

Видео о выращивании энотеры

Понравилась статья ? Нажми на самую красивую кнопку! Будь первым!